A short film for political anoraks

The control of Bury Council came down to one seat. Recounts couldn’t separate the two candidates. So short straws were drawn to see who won and hence who got control of the council:

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in Election law.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/24054 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

5 Comments

  • Ah, electoral reform at last!

  • I read about this earlier, they could have tossed coins but the Tory candidate felt he had bad luck with coin tosses.

  • Please, Please, Please STOP using the word “anorak” or “political anorak”! It is demeaning to say the least.

    We have spent the last 10 or 15 years trying to shed the perceived Lib Dem image of “woolly pully, bearded sandal brigade” to become credible politicians in smart suits and smartly dressed.

    This kind of remark puts us right back to where we used to be and as long as folk still think we are “the anorak brigade” (as well as all the other epithets) we are not going to regain any ground. It’s going to be hard enough to claw our way back up to the top – please don’t scupper our chances by using this type of terminology!

  • Rebekah. You’re SUCH an anorak!

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPeter Hayes 24th May - 10:05pm
    Well said. My own ex-MP will probably have to let people go because there is no funding. The same for the party, some will go...
  • User AvatarAndrew 24th May - 10:04pm
    @Martin Those low earning graduates you speak of will still have a huge and growing debt hanging over them that will hamper their efforts to...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 24th May - 10:00pm
    I attended Stephen Lloyd's "Thank You Party" on 24 May at the Afton hotel in Eastbourne. There was one gay Irishman celebrating the referendum result....
  • User AvatarDanny 24th May - 9:57pm
    A family example. My great grandfather was a small farmer. He and his rather large family had a small farm which would be considered way...
  • User AvatarAndrew 24th May - 9:52pm
    My first experience of political campaigning was delivering leaflets aged 10 in Ecclesall (Sheffield Hallam) against the abolition of grammar schools. My father, a life-long...
  • User AvatarTCO 24th May - 9:48pm
    @Danny thank you that was most thought provoking. This is a subject which does deserve its own thread. Sadly I fear it will disappear from...
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015