A short film for political anoraks

The control of Bury Council came down to one seat. Recounts couldn’t separate the two candidates. So short straws were drawn to see who won and hence who got control of the council:

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in Election law.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/24054 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

5 Comments

  • Ah, electoral reform at last!

  • I read about this earlier, they could have tossed coins but the Tory candidate felt he had bad luck with coin tosses.

  • Please, Please, Please STOP using the word “anorak” or “political anorak”! It is demeaning to say the least.

    We have spent the last 10 or 15 years trying to shed the perceived Lib Dem image of “woolly pully, bearded sandal brigade” to become credible politicians in smart suits and smartly dressed.

    This kind of remark puts us right back to where we used to be and as long as folk still think we are “the anorak brigade” (as well as all the other epithets) we are not going to regain any ground. It’s going to be hard enough to claw our way back up to the top – please don’t scupper our chances by using this type of terminology!

  • Rebekah. You’re SUCH an anorak!

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJonathan Brown 4th Jul - 2:42am
    Thanks for asking these questions. It's just scratching the surface, but very welcome nonetheless. I think on balance I find Norman's answer more impressive -...
  • User AvatarT-J 4th Jul - 12:03am
    Mr Wallace and others - although it sounds fairly easy to just ban MPs from the devolved countries in the UK from voting on devolved...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 3rd Jul - 10:30pm
    Yes Andrew, it does include Crimea, and actually the whole of eastern Ukraine. Self-determination for everyone should be one of the biggest liberal causes.
  • User AvatarAndrew 3rd Jul - 10:10pm
    David, Actually it was Greens 10% Lib Dems 5% in the TNS Holyrood poll (in the non-constituency section; the Greens are not mentioned in the...
  • User AvatarAndrew 3rd Jul - 10:00pm
    Good speech by Paddy! (despite misquoting Edward Lear!)
  • User AvatarAndrew 3rd Jul - 9:48pm
    Eddie, Does it extend to self-determination for Crimea as well? If they had a properly supervised referendum I am pretty sure they would still choose...
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015