Allegations regarding the conduct of Lord Rennard: a statement from Jo Swinson MP

My focus throughout has been to protect the women who confided in me and, our shared objective, to prevent other women experiencing this kind of behaviour. All the time I was careful to respect their wish for privacy and, for that matter, their right not to be harassed by the press .

I took action and ensured that others took action. I told the women who had confided in me what I had done to try to put a stop to any inappropriate behaviour, and encouraged them to let me know if they became aware of any further incidents.

I welcome the review into how the party responded to this situation so that lessons can be learned. It is important that a proper process is followed and I look forward to the opportunity to contribute to the review.

* Jo Swinson is the Liberal Democrat MP for East Dunbartonshire and is a Minister in hte Department Business, Innovation and Skills and Equalities Minister

Read more by .
This entry was posted in Party policy and internal matters.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/33366 for Twitter and emails.
Advert
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid-1 23rd May - 1:33am
    Roland: "It’s a oath of allegiance not some aspirational mumbo jumbo." No, it is. That's exactly what it is. The problem is that you don't...
  • User AvatarTonyJ 23rd May - 1:01am
    The leak itself is bad. But what is worse is the cover-up. Sturgeon has honed in on this, and (God I hate to say it)...
  • User AvatarHannah Bettsworth 23rd May - 12:35am
    I could have written a 1, 500 word or more essay on this, as I would have loved to explain the whole historical background but...
  • User AvatarPeter Watson 23rd May - 12:35am
    The full memo was published at the time (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/SNP/11515276/Revealed-Full-text-of-Nicola-Sturgeon-memo.html) The author wrote All of this was given on a confidential basis, so please limit any...
  • User AvatarMark Argent 23rd May - 12:29am
    Interesting distinction between transactional and transformational leadership. The hitch we have at the moment is that a transformational approach under Tim could easily feel like...
  • User AvatarCraig Morrison 23rd May - 12:11am
    I was wondering if anyone could answer a question? I was reading that by leaking the memo Alastair Carmichael had broken Westminster protocol and can't...
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015