Author Archives: Adam Nathan

Ed Davey forms European green alliance to help Cameron win global race

You might not think that the Liberal Democrat Energy and Climate Change Secretary Edward Davey was key to Prime Minister’s David Cameron’s plans to “win the global race”, but you’d be wrong.

Davey is a key proponent of the need to work with allies in Europe to drive through EU reforms that benefit Britain in the world, something we feel strongly about at British Influence.

While a Minister at the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills, he set up the Like-minded Group of EU ministers, to drive economic growth in the EU and cut back on

Posted in News | Tagged , , and | 2 Comments

Opinion: Nick Clegg to set out patriotic case for a reformed Europe

In January, I wrote for Liberal Democrat Voice just as British Influence, the cross-party umbrella campaign to keep Britain in Europe, was starting and Prime Minister David Cameron was about to fire the starting gun for an in/out referendum on our EU membership.

Tomorrow in London, Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg will throw his weight back into the debate with an important speech setting out our party’s stall on the pro-European agenda, including our own commitment to an in/out referendum.

Lib Dems will fight the European Parliament elections next year on …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged and | 12 Comments

Opinion: A new group to urge close EU ties and fight the growing isolationist tide

European Union flags - Some rights reserved by tristam sparksAs a Lib Dem member who supports membership of the EU but sometimes finds this hard to verbalise to my friends, I have often noticed that Europe brings out strong opinions in people.

It can be a source of heated argument around the dinner table and on TV studio sofas. The stronger the views on one side, the more entrenched the other can become. Facts can be in short supply.

The hard truth is that Europe represents half of all our trade in

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged and | 16 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatarpeter tyzack 22nd May - 8:58am
    you beat me to it , Ian Hurdley. Actually Nick was an excellent choice, and has been an excellent Leader through everything that our 'honest'...
  • User AvatarDavid Rogers 22nd May - 8:23am
    Mohsin, thanks for this, especially your points about co-location, joining up of outcomes frameworks ( a point I repeatedly made on behalf of the LGA...
  • User AvatarGreg Smyth 22nd May - 8:16am
    @Simon Gilbert I don't see how paying extra to sit in a comfier seat on a flight is in any way comparable to linking access...
  • User AvatarRobert 22nd May - 7:57am
    theakes 21st May '15 - 2:59pm The problem is that the coalition was good for the country but an electoral disaster for the party. We...
  • User AvatarIan Hurdley 22nd May - 7:45am
    Before exercising the power of hindsight to show that Nick Clegg was a poor choice, people would be wise to reflect that the strongest contender...
  • User AvatarManfarang 22nd May - 3:43am
    Eddie So Liz Kendall is a strong advocate of church disestablishment, PR voting systems, co-ownership in industry etc. The helping hand not the handout.
Fri 22nd May 2015
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015