Author Archives: Alan Levy

Opinion: We should elect all Liberal Democrat nominees to the House of Lords

In 2012 House of Lords reform failed. In 2013 it’s time for Liberal Democrats to show their continuing commitment to democratic reform.

We clearly can’t get the law changed at the moment but we can make a clear, unambiguous statement of intent. It’s just simple democracy and it’s easy; the membership should elect the Liberal Democrat candidates for the Lords. One simple motion at the party conference and a bit of commitment from the leadership is all it takes.

Well of course it’s not that simple, so let’s examine a few of the arguments against and the counter arguments:

This is just internal

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged , and | 15 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 6th Jul - 10:53pm
    "The inheritance tax threshold rise is just a stupid promise made by the conservatives" Inheritance tax is a tax you do not have to pay,...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 6th Jul - 10:20pm
    Thanks for highlighting this, Paul. It's going to be interesting because even if any Tory felt exercised enough by this abuse of process by the...
  • User AvatarAndrew 6th Jul - 10:09pm
    @ Mr Wallace 9 lib Dems, 1 UKIP and 1 Green actually! But don't let a report by the Electoral Reform Society based on a...
  • User AvatarJamie Stewart 6th Jul - 10:01pm
    Thanks for the comments. My main impetus for writing this was George Osborne's clever politics, and I was shoving it out there partly for people...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 6th Jul - 9:55pm
    @JohnTilley Pointing out how his suggestions are flawed and not actually feasible is not "doing the work of The Conservatives and the property spivs ",...
  • User AvatarMrWallace 6th Jul - 9:54pm
    Be grateful you lost the AV vote. AV would mean 1 UKIP MP, zero greens and <3 lib dems. Why they campaigned for such an...
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015