Author Archives: Ben Tyler

Opinion: A mansion tax that is fair and seen to be fair

The natural mechanism for raising a mansion tax on high value UK property is not Council tax. Councils lack a home by home market valuation database and the means to build one. HMRC can raise a tax far more effectively and then might distribute it to councils.

Current Conservative policy will block a mansion tax based upon the rich contributing more but might accept a new tax targeted solely at non-owner occupied homes. Not only do these homes

Posted in News and Op-eds | Tagged | 10 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 24th Jul - 9:12pm
    'Digital organisations are, one at a time, disrupting every part of our society. Companies like Uber and Amazon succeed because they understand that the internet...
  • User AvatarLeave The EU 24th Jul - 8:00pm
    @paul o'grady: "In short, there are a myriad of possibilities before we actually exit – and personally I think we will still be β€˜in’ in...
  • User AvatarDavid Raw 24th Jul - 7:59pm
    @ Lorenzo Cherin " the very marvellous Jimmy Carter " - It's a pleasure to agree with that part of your post. When I was...
  • User Avatarjohnmc 24th Jul - 7:55pm
    electoral reform? surely, electoral reform - surely, at least, electoral reform? (bangs head)
  • User AvatarDavid Raw 24th Jul - 7:49pm
    It would be more accurate to say Trump is less horrendously right wing than Ted Cruz.... though that is not saying much. Consider, Trump opposes...
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 24th Jul - 7:47pm
    Thank you Paul. Interesting points. Showing my ignorance - what is VTLC?
Sun 24th Jul 2016
Tue 26th Jul 2016
Thu 28th Jul 2016
Sat 30th Jul 2016
Mon 1st Aug 2016
Sat 6th Aug 2016
Wed 10th Aug 2016
Fri 12th Aug 2016
19:00
Thu 18th Aug 2016
Sun 21st Aug 2016