Author Archives: Brendan Glynane

The ludicrous story of Northamptonshire’s new Police and Crime Commissioner

Across the country the controversial newly elected Police and Crime Commissioners are supposed to be getting down to business. The reality in several areas is that many are hitting the headlines for the wrong reasons, and nowhere is this truer than in the case of Adam Simmonds, the Northamptonshire PCC, who has stacked his new “sprawling” 17-person commission with his campaign staff.

The whole story is an ‘omnishambles’ – a toxic mixture of high farce, cronyism and arrogance potentially leading to an unacceptable politicisation of our police force.

First though, a little background. Mr Simmonds was the Conservative political assistant at Tory-run …

Posted in News | Tagged , and | 27 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarShirley Campbell 24th May - 12:54am
    Wow, when did Liberalism abandon radicalism? Wow, when Liberals abandoned the Liberal Party and set up the Liberal Democratic Party. Please folk research Liberalism and...
  • User AvatarMartin 24th May - 12:10am
    Tony Greaves: Do you think that we would not have won a referendum on gay marriage? More seriously, as a Liberal do you not have...
  • User Avatartony123 24th May - 12:09am
    Look at how the Fianna Fail/ Green coalition worked out for the Greens. You'll struggle to find the Greens in Eire. As to Labour they...
  • User AvatarAndrew S Hatton 23rd May - 11:58pm
    All this LD hand wringing is about not retaining the power and influence that was accepted by the Parliamentary Party who agreed the deal in...
  • User AvatarTony Greaves 23rd May - 11:06pm
    Just won a referendum which we could not.
  • User AvatarMartin 23rd May - 11:06pm
    For those many graduates who do not get to earn high salaries, who in the end do not have to pay anything or not very...
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015