Author Archives: Celia Thomas

Baroness Thomas writes… Getting Personal Independence Payments right

This afternoon the Department of Work and Pensions announces a significant change on the new Personal Independent Payments following significant Lib Dem pressure. Celia Thomas, the Lib Dem peer who has campaigned tirelessly on the issue, explains why it’s a major win.

Getting the rules governing Personal Independence Payments right is vital. The new benefit, which will begin to replace Disability Living Allowance later this year, will have a huge effect on disabled people up and down the country.

I’m broadly in favour of the change to PIP, which seeks to clarify the eligibility of disabled people to this benefit, the purpose …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged , , , and | 15 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarStuart 28th Feb - 5:13pm
    @Simon I wasn't even trying to make a point particularly, I just wanted to get some idea of what you actually want from a student...
  • User Avatarexpats 28th Feb - 5:07pm
    Stephen Campbell/Stuart.....I don't wish to alienate anyone on this site...However, I posted my 28th Feb '15 - 10:14am because I resent being spoken to as...
  • User AvatarStuart 28th Feb - 5:04pm
    @Simon "You and they give the impression that you recognise that Labour has got itself into a major bind over this" There's one flaw with...
  • User Avatarpaul barker 28th Feb - 5:02pm
    Where I disagree with Tim Farron is in thinking that stable government is what Britain needs most right now. What we really need is change,...
  • User AvatarAndrew Ducker 28th Feb - 4:38pm
    Looking at most election forecast sites, neither Tory+LibDem or Lab+LibDem is going to be enough for a majority: http://electionforecast.co.uk/ And as the SNP have ruled...
  • User AvatarSteve 28th Feb - 3:36pm
    @Paul Walter So what is your explanation for allowing Mr Shaw to post? I've never once read anything constructive in his numerous comments.
Sat 28th Feb 2015
Sun 1st Mar 2015
Mon 2nd Mar 2015
18:30
Wed 4th Mar 2015
Sat 7th Mar 2015
Sun 8th Mar 2015
Wed 11th Mar 2015
Fri 13th Mar 2015
Sat 14th Mar 2015
Wed 18th Mar 2015
Sat 28th Mar 2015