Author Archives: Daniel Russell

Opinion: UK sets the right example on same sex marriage

The Polish parliament - Some rights reserved by Kancelaria PremieraIt’s been a week of ups and downs with regard to marriage equality and I am not just talking about in Britain. This week the Polish parliament voted down a bill that would have introduced civil partnerships. Despite an impassioned plea by Prime Minister Donald Tusk, a significant part of his governing party voted against the bill, teaming up with conservative members to destroy any chance it had of becoming law. Indeed, one member declared that she would be voting against the bill because gay people “are of no use whatsoever to society.” From this position, equal

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged | 14 Comments

Opinion: Strange bedfellows?

As a Liberal Democrat supporter currently residing in Warsaw, Poland it is with great interest that I have read David Cameron will be in my adopted home town tomorrow to launch with Czech and Polish partners, a new right-wing group in the EU parliament. It is well documented that Cameron pledged to withdraw the Tories from the centre-right EPP grouping but as can be seen from this weekend’s Guardian this is not altogether a popular decision amongst senior Tories.

The Tory party has long made itself irrelevant on European issues – but what bothers me so much is that the …

Posted in Europe / International and Op-eds | Tagged , , , and | Leave a comment

Opinion: Pushing for PR

In a week which has seen the Commons Speaker lose his job over his part in the mis-handling of MPs’ expenses – which is merely the culmination of a less than satisfactory tenure in the prestigious position – surely it is time for other sweeping changes to be undertaken for the good of politics in the UK? In particular, now must be the time for the Lib Dems to be pushing even harder for proportional representation.

Voter apathy has been all too apparent in recent years and the disconnection between the public and the political process has been getting wider and …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged , and | 12 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarGeoffrey Payne 4th Jul - 10:40pm
    It might well be the case now, and if it is then that means no deal as far as the Lib Dems are concerned. I...
  • User AvatarDavid 4th Jul - 10:40pm
    @Phyllis: "David, they might not exist explicitly on this thread". They don't exist at all on this thread. @Phyllis: "men from a working class background...
  • User AvatarMrWallace 4th Jul - 9:24pm
    @andrew. "I am just astonished that two parents expect to have children with no effect on their careers at all". Me too, I think it's...
  • User AvatarMrWallace 4th Jul - 9:09pm
    PR as a red line no nonsense about a referendum? When I ask why this wasn't done in 2010 I'm told because it would be...
  • User AvatarAndrew 4th Jul - 8:55pm
    I should have said "look after their children for part of the time" of course! Unless your are aristocracy...
  • User AvatarAndrew 4th Jul - 8:53pm
    OK, my feelings on this: having children is a choice. Children are wonderful, but they are very demanding. Bringing them up as well-socialised, positive members...
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015