Author Archives: Hannah Bettsworth and Jenny Marr

Opinion: Lobby MPs on votes at 16 ahead of Commons debate this week

Liberal Youth Votes at 16 banner

Stephen Williams MP has recently brought forward a motion about extending the franchise to 16 and 17 year olds: this means that the House of Commons will debate the issue on 24th January. In 2005 his motion on the topic failed by just 8 votes. As such, it’s exceedingly important that as many MPs who support votes at 16 attend the debate and vote if possible.

Liberal Youth Scotland has been strongly pushing for votes at 16 for all referendums and elections this …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged , and | 3 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 6th Jul - 8:39pm
    Clever politics by Osborne in delegating responsibility for any decision on a future cut to the BBC, but I have little sympathy for the outrage...
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 6th Jul - 7:58pm
    Quite right, Mark, -- UK forces bombing and destroying things and killing people in Syria will not prevent a gunman doing crazy things in Tunisia....
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 6th Jul - 7:44pm
    Stephen Donnelly, The simple answer to your question (without knowing what you mean by "EASE" the Green Belt) is that The Green Belt is not...
  • User AvatarStephen Donnelly 6th Jul - 7:40pm
    Why should we not just ease the Green Belt around London.
  • User AvatarJames Ridgwell 6th Jul - 7:36pm
    Hi Jim - I agree with much for this - I don't think we should aim for equidistance for the reason you gave, and we...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 6th Jul - 7:30pm
    The Gladstone Club, meeting in the National Liberal Club, had several speakers on this issue. Chris Huhne was one, speaking for an hour and taking...
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015