Author Archives: Hannah Bettsworth and Jenny Marr

Opinion: Lobby MPs on votes at 16 ahead of Commons debate this week

Liberal Youth Votes at 16 banner

Stephen Williams MP has recently brought forward a motion about extending the franchise to 16 and 17 year olds: this means that the House of Commons will debate the issue on 24th January. In 2005 his motion on the topic failed by just 8 votes. As such, it’s exceedingly important that as many MPs who support votes at 16 attend the debate and vote if possible.

Liberal Youth Scotland has been strongly pushing for votes at 16 for all referendums and elections this …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged , and | 3 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 24th Jul - 9:12pm
    'Digital organisations are, one at a time, disrupting every part of our society. Companies like Uber and Amazon succeed because they understand that the internet...
  • User AvatarLeave The EU 24th Jul - 8:00pm
    @paul o'grady: "In short, there are a myriad of possibilities before we actually exit – and personally I think we will still be ‘in’ in...
  • User AvatarDavid Raw 24th Jul - 7:59pm
    @ Lorenzo Cherin " the very marvellous Jimmy Carter " - It's a pleasure to agree with that part of your post. When I was...
  • User Avatarjohnmc 24th Jul - 7:55pm
    electoral reform? surely, electoral reform - surely, at least, electoral reform? (bangs head)
  • User AvatarDavid Raw 24th Jul - 7:49pm
    It would be more accurate to say Trump is less horrendously right wing than Ted Cruz.... though that is not saying much. Consider, Trump opposes...
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 24th Jul - 7:47pm
    Thank you Paul. Interesting points. Showing my ignorance - what is VTLC?
Sun 24th Jul 2016
Tue 26th Jul 2016
Thu 28th Jul 2016
Sat 30th Jul 2016
Mon 1st Aug 2016
Sat 6th Aug 2016
Wed 10th Aug 2016
Fri 12th Aug 2016
19:00
Thu 18th Aug 2016
Sun 21st Aug 2016