Author Archives: Hannah Bettsworth and Jenny Marr

Opinion: Lobby MPs on votes at 16 ahead of Commons debate this week

Liberal Youth Votes at 16 banner

Stephen Williams MP has recently brought forward a motion about extending the franchise to 16 and 17 year olds: this means that the House of Commons will debate the issue on 24th January. In 2005 his motion on the topic failed by just 8 votes. As such, it’s exceedingly important that as many MPs who support votes at 16 attend the debate and vote if possible.

Liberal Youth Scotland has been strongly pushing for votes at 16 for all referendums and elections this …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged , and | 3 Comments

Recent Comments

  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 13th Oct - 9:59pm
    Caron - Not getting at you or anyone else here. I hear an awful lot that Scotland is some sort of pro-EU hotbed. Is it?...
  • User AvatarPhyllis 13th Oct - 9:55pm
    Stuart I'm still wondering where "in bra" fits in, and whether it has anything to do with Steohen Tall.
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 13th Oct - 9:45pm
    Bruce, I've just been thinking about how the SNP might pitch their EU Referendum campaign. My guess is that it will help to deliver a...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 13th Oct - 9:45pm
    Tory politicians seem to think that the BBC is biased against them. They may have a point occasionally. For instance this week the Daily Politics...
  • User AvatarStuart 13th Oct - 9:43pm
    @Dave Orbison "Is there a clear statement from the LibDems explaining their position ahead of the vote?" Well according to Joe Otten's helpful quoting of...
  • User AvatarWill 13th Oct - 9:37pm
    @T-J "Will, you’re playing silly games with the most important question put to referendum in this country since the 1970s. " When somebody else has...
Wed 14th Oct 2015
Thu 15th Oct 2015
Fri 16th Oct 2015
Sat 17th Oct 2015
Sun 18th Oct 2015
Tue 20th Oct 2015
Thu 22nd Oct 2015
Fri 23rd Oct 2015
Sat 24th Oct 2015
Sun 25th Oct 2015
Wed 28th Oct 2015
Thu 29th Oct 2015
Mon 2nd Nov 2015
Wed 4th Nov 2015
Thu 5th Nov 2015
Fri 6th Nov 2015
Sat 7th Nov 2015