Author Archives: John Alderdice

Lord Alderdice writes… Improving the Justice and Security Bill

Last night the House of Lords debated and voted on the Justice and Security Bill at its Report stage. I know from reading Lib Dem Voice and from listening to the recent debate at Conference what a touchstone issue this Bill is for many members. Which is why I want to explain how the Bill, which we have now passed to the Commons, is a very different beast from that originally under consideration.

Some of you will have seen that the Joint Committee on Human Rights (JCHR) produced a unanimous report last week. We have two eminent Liberal …

Posted in Parliament | Tagged , , , and | 7 Comments

Lord Alderdice writes: The NHS Bill is substantially improved

As Liberal Democrats we are reformist by instinct and as in every other area of our community life we want to see reform of the NHS, not only to enable it to deal with the major resource and demographic challenges of the next twenty years, but also to ensure that it is more clinician-led, patient-centred and outcome-focussed than it has ever been before. That is why our MPs supported the principles of the Secretary of State’s original NHS Bill when it came to 2nd Reading in the House of Commons.

Our very public concerns have centred round whether the precise organizational …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged and | 25 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid 4th Jul - 2:21pm
    @ Caron. Yes a female from a working class background will have a harder time than a male from the same background, a disabled person...
  • User AvatarSue S 4th Jul - 2:13pm
    I know that two or three swallows don't make a summer but by golly don't they give you hope! Thank you thank you thank you....
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 4th Jul - 1:51pm
    On the subject of sex discrimination: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2015/06/21/gender_pay_gap/
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 4th Jul - 1:41pm
    @ Ruth - "Until that woman has her second period of maternity leave and then her career tends towards toast!" That is a quite separate...
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 4th Jul - 1:34pm
    Caron Lindsay 4th Jul '15 - 1:00pm Agreed.
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 4th Jul - 1:32pm
    MrWallace 3rd Jul '15 - 11:13pm "I think a male who grew up on a council estate and went to their local school will be...
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015