Author Archives: John Sharkey

Lord John Sharkey’s maiden speech

LDV has been bringing you the words of our new representatives as they speak for the first time in the Houses of Parliament. We bring you maiden speeches from new MPs and new members of the House of Lords. You can find an archive of all maiden speeches we’ve published by clicking this link. If you think we’ve missed someone, do please drop us a line.

Lord Sharkey: My Lords, it is a great privilege and a great honour to join your Lordships’ House. It has also been a great pleasure because of the immense kindness shown …

Posted in Parliament | Tagged , , and | 4 Comments

Opinion: Getting ready for the next General Election

At the next General Election we have a once in a generation opportunity. The Labour vote is in freefall and in so many of their traditional heartlands, in places like Newcastle, Liverpool, Hull, Burnley and Sheffield, it is our party that is poised to take electoral advantage. There is now no such thing as a safe Labour seat.

We undoubtedly face a tougher fight against the Tories, however it is clear that the public are far from convinced about Cameron and Osborne. Many voters are being turned off by their assumption that they will breeze into Downing Street after the …

Posted in General Election and Op-eds | Tagged | 30 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarBolano 26th May - 12:22pm
    @Joe Otten 26th May '15 - 12:05pm "Bolano, the list of people who are premoderated is biassed against people who ignore the comments policy. In...
  • User AvatarSue S 26th May - 12:21pm
    I am definitely going for Tim Farron as I believe the membership has to show the general public that we were all as upset about...
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 26th May - 12:20pm
    Joe Otten I do not think I have ever "whined" about having all my comments "pre-moderated". I have on the odd occasion suggested that it...
  • User AvatarJoe Otten 26th May - 12:15pm
    AndrewR, That would be a welcome change to policy. I could trash whatever I liked and there would be none of this comeback. The John...
  • User AvatarNigel Jones 26th May - 12:11pm
    Martin: It is wrong to imply that Norman is best if we wish to be in government, otherwise Tim might be better. That is a...
  • User AvatarJonathan Pile 26th May - 12:11pm
    @Joe Otten Firstly I see that you have stepped back from your incorrect statement that Zero posted are censored. As you and I know, many...
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015