Author Archives: Jonathan Clifton

The Independent View: Coalition’s social mobility strategy failing

The government’s plan to improve social mobility has been dealt a series of blows over the past week. New education data show that trends towards a more ‘socially mobile’ Britain are pointing in the wrong direction.

Nick Clegg launched the government’s social mobility strategy last April, promising to ‘open the doors of opportunity’ to children from disadvantaged homes as they move into adulthood. Children from poor homes are half as likely to achieve five good GCSEs as their better off peers, and they account for less than one in a hundred Oxbridge students. Clegg rightly pointed out that …

Posted in Op-eds and The Independent View | Tagged , , , , , and | 8 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJohn McHugo 26th Feb - 10:35pm
    Toby - I'm glad you agree that recognition is probably due now. You also say it should be "within the 1967 borders subject to agreed...
  • User AvatarJasper Gerard 26th Feb - 10:29pm
    Very sad news. Touching and charmingly written obit Ed. J
  • User AvatarATF 26th Feb - 10:21pm
    UKIP Kiddie We'll see who has more MPs after the election...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th Feb - 9:57pm
    As there happens to be a fairly direct link between a politician's pecuniary interests and the policies he or she can be expected to support,...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th Feb - 9:53pm
    Ideally these places wouldn't exist at all. But even if a full measure of liberty allows for the possibility that such places can exist, there's...
  • User AvatarPhilip Thomas 26th Feb - 9:46pm
    @malc- yes, the Tories and Lib Dems will team up with the DUP. Next!
Fri 27th Feb 2015
Sat 28th Feb 2015
Sun 1st Mar 2015
Mon 2nd Mar 2015
18:30
Wed 4th Mar 2015
Sat 7th Mar 2015
Sun 8th Mar 2015
Wed 11th Mar 2015
Fri 13th Mar 2015
Sat 14th Mar 2015
Wed 18th Mar 2015