Author Archives: Kaye Stearman

The Independent View: Arms deals with India – why Lib Dems should say no

PM Cameron’s heavyweight government plus business trip to India went swimmingly, so we are to believe, despite that diplomatic faux pas about Pakistani support for terrorism and Indian discontent about proposed immigration quotas. One fortunate outcome for Mr Cameron was that both issues diverted attention from a highly contentious arms deal involving arms giant BAE.

Under the deal, 57 Hawk jets will be manufactured under licence in India with BAE’s Indian partner, Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL), with technical support from BAE. Roll-Royce also gets a slice of the deal as its jet engines will be used in production. The deal is …

Posted in Op-eds and The Independent View | Tagged , , and | 8 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 29th May - 3:07pm
    Paul Holmes, sorry you are right that this criticism can equally be applied to those who wished the party to become more aligned with the...
  • User AvatarPeter Sigrist 29th May - 2:50pm
    @John Tilley - I suspect you refer to the Sigrist whose name was on the flight controls of the Sopwith Camel. Unfortunately, I can claim...
  • User AvatarPaul Holmes 29th May - 2:47pm
    Eddie, when Norman says we 'should not be an adjunct to another Party' you say you see this as a 'polite critique of those who...
  • User AvatarPeter 29th May - 2:44pm
    I have frequently seen reference to the "evil, wicked Tories" on this site. It is not a good direction on a number of levels. I...
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 29th May - 2:37pm
    @Phyllis: I was taking the word *Know* literally to that of the personal level, as suggested by postings on here which some members inside the...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 29th May - 2:27pm
    A very good article. I feel fairly confident when I walk alone at night and I want more people to feel like this. There are...
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015