Author Archives: Lewis James Brown

The Independent View: National security is paramount but ‘secret courts’ are an illiberal attack on British justice

Supreme Court - Some rights reserved by cphoffman42In September 2012, the Liberal Democrat Conference voted overwhelmingly against the most contentious aspect of the government’s Justice and Security Bill – the extension of ‘secret courts’, otherwise known as Closed Material Procedures (CMPs), into civil courts.

This would allow ministers to submit a CMP application to a judge that material relating to national security be withheld from the defendant/claimant and their legal team despite being used as evidence. As Andrew Tyrie MP and Anthony Peto QC explain in “Neither Just nor Secure”, published today by the Centre for Policy Studies, this is worrying because “in an adversarial system such as the English one, the right to know and challenge the opposing case is not merely a feature of the system, it is the system”.

Posted in The Independent View | Tagged , , and | 3 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPsi 7th Jul - 4:08pm
    expats “Council Housing is the only answer” I disagree, Housing Associations are an option and one I prefer HA to Councils as you have fewer...
  • User Avatarpaul barker 7th Jul - 4:05pm
    Welcome Peter, 5 good points & I would add a 6th _ lets not overestimate Labour. Older members will complain that I have been predicting...
  • User AvatarMark Smulian 7th Jul - 4:02pm
    Expats: "I do not accept there is a shortage of skilled labour; I advertised for a builder to put in an extra bathroom and had...
  • User AvatarPsi 7th Jul - 3:57pm
    As with other I am disturbed by the characterisation of Housing Associations as “public assets” they are not, they are private institutions (yes mutuals are...
  • User AvatarPeter Chivall 7th Jul - 3:55pm
    Ian Sanderson has the nub of it. A HoC elected by FPTP cannot be seen as competent to change its procedures to select out groups...
  • User AvatarJoe Otten 7th Jul - 3:27pm
    John, thanks for offering to answer my questions, but your comment seems to have got cut off during the ranty bit before you got to...
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015