Author Archives: Luke Tyson

Opinion: LibDems are the natural home for Blairites

There have been some high profile (if not high level) Blairite defections to the Tories. While there are some similarities between the Blair legacy and our coalition partners, the defectees seem to have overlooked or discarded one idea – joining the Liberal Democrats.

As Jonathan Powell says in his book, The New Machiavelli, and as was evident during his time in office, Tony Blair was strongly pro-Europe. He understood, as we do, that a) the largest common market in the world is something that we should be actively engaging with and leading, and b) there are threats and issues …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged and | 30 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMichael BG 28th May - 4:32pm
    If people have the opportunity to elect their representatives than that is democracy. It does not matter if only one person wished to stand the...
  • User Avatardavespod 28th May - 4:31pm
    @Neale Upstone If it is an liberal economics you want, Tim Farron is probably not your man. He is generally considered on the left-ish wing...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 28th May - 4:22pm
    I am reminded of the claims made for the excellence of the system of rotten boroughs prior to the Reform Bill. According to the Duke...
  • User AvatarGordon 28th May - 4:19pm
    David Allen - Nicely put. And I totally agree with your last point. The Lib Dems simply aren't fit for purpose as currently organised and...
  • User Avatarpaul barker 28th May - 4:11pm
    We are in a strange twilight zone at the moment, its the start of the "silly season" & everyone interested in Politics is in recovery...
  • User AvatarToby Keynes 28th May - 4:02pm
    I'm encouraged that all 5 of our LibDem MSPs took part, and the majority were in support of the bill. Jim Hume, Liam McArthur and...
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015