Author Archives: Mark Blackburn

Jessops – is administration a euphemism for obliteration?

Sadly, yesterday another retailer went into administration, this time Jessops, the high street camera chain. For the time being it continues to trade but the jobs of its 2000 employees in 200 stores are under threat. Surprisingly, Christmas can be a bad time for retailers – rents are due on Christmas Day and if the expected bumper sales don’t materialise, the money may not be there to pay them.

Obviously it’s not going to get any easier for ‘bricks and mortar’ store chains with the continuing increase in online sales, but there’s a more fundamental problem – apart from the massive …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged and | 20 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSteve 28th Feb - 3:36pm
    @Paul Walter So what is your explanation for allowing Mr Shaw to post? I've never once read anything constructive in his numerous comments.
  • User AvatarHywel 28th Feb - 3:35pm
    Response from Inner Temple: "Ms Grell made a full disclosure of her conviction on application to become a student member of the Honourable Society of...
  • User AvatarSimon Shaw 28th Feb - 3:24pm
    "Tim Farron ... revealed that he believes the Lib Dems will have to support whichever party wins the most seats (with Labour the obvious choice)."...
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 28th Feb - 3:20pm
    Moderator's note: Stuart 12:43: "I once had a comment banned because I used the word “daft”." Stuart, our archive retains all published and moderated/unpublished comments....
  • User AvatarThomas 28th Feb - 3:09pm
    Who is simon shaw? I've been reading these threads for many months now and he's the rudest person on here. Is he definitely a Liberal...
  • User AvatarRC 28th Feb - 3:04pm
    @ Malc. "One of the problems is that most LibDem workers who are out on the doorsteps prefer Labours policy to the coalition policy on...
Sat 28th Feb 2015
Sun 1st Mar 2015
Mon 2nd Mar 2015
18:30
Wed 4th Mar 2015
Sat 7th Mar 2015
Sun 8th Mar 2015
Wed 11th Mar 2015
Fri 13th Mar 2015
Sat 14th Mar 2015
Wed 18th Mar 2015
Sat 28th Mar 2015