Author Archives: Martin Petts

A letter from……Catalonia

As the UK plans a referendum on Scottish independence, those of us watching from Spain can only look on in envy at the orderly and civilised process led by the Secretary of State for Scotland. Here in Catalonia, Northern Spain, similar demand exists for an independent state, but the two sides have chosen indignation and confrontation instead of a serious debate.

The last two years have been tough for all EU governing parties and Spain has unique problems, with its sky-high unemployment levels, corruption and a rickety banking system. But this month Catalans will go to the polls in a general

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged , , , and | 8 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMalcolm Todd 25th May - 4:18pm
    "I don’t want the tax officials snooping around people’s houses." Which is why a land tax is a good idea, Eddie (well, it's one reason)...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 25th May - 4:06pm
    Richard - 'Most people are UK citizens, or not, by chance of birth. I suspect those who believe that we should have empathy for all...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 25th May - 3:56pm
    'I think it punishes people who have bought land for no good reason.' Surely the point of an LVT is that it might be your...
  • User AvatarRichard 25th May - 3:54pm
    @ Little Jackie Paper "... as they aren’t citizens my sympathy is somewhat limited". Already we see the referendum battle lines emerging. Most people are...
  • User AvatarDavid Blake 25th May - 3:53pm
    And of course despite the fact that Zimbabwe withdrew from the Commonwealth, its citizens in this country can still vote here.
  • User Avatarsuzanne fletcher 25th May - 3:39pm
    I would hope there can be an answer to this that does not increase bureaucracy, but enables serious canidates with broad support to stand. I...
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015