Author Archives: Matt Wood

Opinion: Don’t reform the House of Lords; scrap it

After the humiliating defeat of the AV referendum, a system to which no party aspired to before the General Election, and the disastrous rout of elected Lib Dems in Scotland and England, serious questions must be asked about the future direction of the party and its place in the coalition government.

In order to reclaim the trust of the British electorate, we need to be bold and radical, and we must speak up for the aspirations of the British people, particularly the disillusioned young; the Facebook generation, who are the future of our democracy. Despite Nick Clegg’s promise of a ‘New …

Posted in News | Tagged , and | 33 Comments

Opinion: ‘Dirty tricks’ politics is destroying British democracy

Politics should be about constructive debate and people working together to find solutions to common problems like global warming, the economy, social cohesion and public health. Most people get involved in politics for the right reasons, primarily because they want to change the world or help their local community.

However, if you read the Sunday newspapers, it would appear that all politicians do these days is fiddle their expenses and think of new ways to smear their opponents. The resignation of Damian McBride following his alleged plans to smear to Tories, is just the latest in a long line of …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged | 15 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 3rd Jul - 1:06pm
    Gordon The voters view is clear: they are ANGRY with the ‘Westminster bubble’ for not representing their interests; the Lib Dems are not excused and...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 3rd Jul - 12:54pm
    Little Jackie Paper That was the official line and, of course, that was sensible. That said I took the line about, ‘add heart to a...
  • User AvatarSue S 3rd Jul - 12:23pm
    Brilliant article. Welcome to "we".
  • User Avatarpaul barker 3rd Jul - 12:20pm
    This was an astonishing result - our vote up by 25%, more than doublling. We took votes from Con, Greens & Lab & for an...
  • User AvatarMartin Elengorn 3rd Jul - 12:01pm
    This Martin is NOT me! Brilliant candidate plus brilliant agent, Stephen Knight. Some good local transport issues which the Tories had neglected and enough help...
  • User AvatarManfarang 3rd Jul - 11:59am
    Someone has given counsel on winning. Congratulations! I want to see much more of this counsel in the weeks and months ahead.
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015