Author Archives: Mo Saqib

Opinion: Tuition fees and inconvenient truths

Wednesday, 21st November 2012 is, to use Mr Roosevelt’s words, “a date that will live in infamy”. Indeed, it was a day that finally brought the government to its knees. The coalition had well and truly been smashed to pieces.

Well, that’s what you’d believe if you were a member of the Socialist Workers’ Party.

What really happened? A student protest that was never aimed at achieving anything (and indeed it didn’t). The protest of November 2010 aimed to lobby MPs in the run-up to the vote on raising tuition fees. For all the cost and effort put into organising it, this week’s

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged and | 64 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarLorenzo Cherin 27th Jul - 1:13am
    I really commend Fiona , Paul , Richard , for their positive attitude while also recognising the difficult situation our party faces . I am...
  • User Avatarmalc 27th Jul - 12:15am
    Looking at the latest ICM opinion poll this Lib Dem attitude to those who voted Brexit doesn't seem to be helping. Labour support down to...
  • User AvatarConor McGovern 27th Jul - 12:04am
    *No democrat !
  • User AvatarConor McGovern 27th Jul - 12:04am
    Hillary Clinton's no liberal, no liberal and no progressive.
  • User AvatarLorenzo Cherin 27th Jul - 12:01am
    David Raw If , instead of insulting by condescention after having read , barely , but one comment , you had ever bothered to read...
  • User AvatarTim13 26th Jul - 11:43pm
    Another Devon Lib Dem. Just to say - as Agent in the Exmouth byelection - we do sometimes campaign against inappropriately sited new housing, but...
Thu 28th Jul 2016
Sat 30th Jul 2016
Mon 1st Aug 2016
Wed 3rd Aug 2016
Sat 6th Aug 2016
Wed 10th Aug 2016
Fri 12th Aug 2016
19:00
Sat 13th Aug 2016
Tue 16th Aug 2016
Thu 18th Aug 2016
Sun 21st Aug 2016