Author Archives: Mo Saqib

Opinion: Tuition fees and inconvenient truths

Wednesday, 21st November 2012 is, to use Mr Roosevelt’s words, “a date that will live in infamy”. Indeed, it was a day that finally brought the government to its knees. The coalition had well and truly been smashed to pieces.

Well, that’s what you’d believe if you were a member of the Socialist Workers’ Party.

What really happened? A student protest that was never aimed at achieving anything (and indeed it didn’t). The protest of November 2010 aimed to lobby MPs in the run-up to the vote on raising tuition fees. For all the cost and effort put into organising it, this week’s

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged and | 64 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPeter Watson 25th May - 10:14am
    It's interesting that discussion on this thread has drifted towards a discussion of censorship on the site. For some reason the current thread on Alistair...
  • User AvatarSara Scarlett 25th May - 10:12am
    Whilst I completely understand the sentiment of this post, one of the ways this party has gone badly, badly wrong is by thinking of itself...
  • User AvatarMichael Hall 25th May - 10:10am
    @Alex Dingwall I do not believe that Alistair's actions were in breach of the standards we expect of those in public life. I understand that...
  • User AvatarJohn Roffey 25th May - 10:09am
    Tim13 25th May '15 - 9:59am "in order to move on to a balanced globalisation" How can this be achieved when there is no global...
  • User AvatarTCO 25th May - 10:07am
    @Tim 13 "I fully agree with Stephen Hesketh’s implication that the Preamble did not envisage this “economic liberalism” as compatible with the aims of the...
  • User Avatarbob sayer 25th May - 10:06am
    To identify any in dividual is unrealistic as it is silly. The party will no doubt,to the delight and involvement of a minority of navel...
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015