Author Archives: Neville Farmer

Opinion: Let’s stop pussyfooting over property prices

According to a report published by Shelter this week, if the price of an oven ready chicken had risen as fast as the price of the average house since 1971, it would cost £51.18. House prices simply have to fall if we’re to find any way out of our economic mess and many of those with mortgages are going to have to take a hit. What we need to do is to ensure that the pain is borne by those who can best afford it… and who caused the problem in the first place.

We need to get over our obsession …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged and | 50 Comments

Opinion: Boundary nonsense

Boundary - Some rights reserved by ank0kuOn the face of it, the boundary change proposals were about cutting costs by having less MPs and strengthening democracy by having each MP represent roughly identical numbers of voters. Neither of these claims bear close scrutiny.

Our democracy is not a simple thing – it struggles its way through the conflicting needs of the nation and the individual. It is unrealistic to base our representation on population statistics alone. It’s true that there are a few Parliamentary seats with fairly sparsely populated

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged | 9 Comments

Opinion: What free press?

Stand strong, Nick. Do not cave to Cameron over Leveson because if you do so, you go against your party’s wishes and, according to the polls, those of 86% of Daily Mail readers!

As a journalist, I have long defended the principle of a free press as a vital plank of democracy. The protests of journalists that we are facing the abyss are not unfounded. Yet there is a myth about the British press that is more fantastic than many of the stories it publishes; the myth that we have a “free” press, at all. The sheer quantity of coverage across …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged | 17 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid-1 5th Jul - 1:40pm
    I agree with Mick Taylor that strong regional parties are desirable, but it seems to me that an essential precondition for that is the independent...
  • User AvatarSara Scarlett 5th Jul - 1:17pm
    "The big problem with a referendum is that people don’t vote on the question but on some hot political issue. The farcical referendum on AV...
  • User AvatarNotTellingYou 5th Jul - 1:11pm
    As if midwives, health visitors and teachers aren't busy enough? Speaking as a person who, as a child, had numerous social workers and was still...
  • User AvatarColin 5th Jul - 1:11pm
    Identity politics will be the death of this party. How can the Lib Dems have any kind of broad appeal when those who challenge demonstrably...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 1:11pm
    We have to deal with the world as it is rather than as we'd like it to be. I want regional devolution in England (though...
  • User AvatarChrisB 5th Jul - 12:43pm
    >"Tim Farron’s call for the UK to take 60,000 migrants" I was too busy thinking about my own backyard and missed this vote winning beauty....
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015