Author Archives: Nick Barlow

Eric Pickles’ 50 money-saving ideas show that he has no idea about local government

Wedenesday saw the announcement of the local government funding settlement for 2013-14. As expected, councils across England will be facing even more cuts in their already-stretched budgets, and wondering just how they continue to deliver services in the face of ever-widening budget gaps. (See here or here for examples of how a funding squeeze and rising costs are impacting councils)

Of course, local government should be glad that we have a Secretary of State who understands the issues affecting the sector and is prepared to fight its cause in Whitehall while puncturing some of the myths that are propagated …

Posted in Local government and Op-eds | Tagged and | 10 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid 4th Jul - 2:21pm
    @ Caron. Yes a female from a working class background will have a harder time than a male from the same background, a disabled person...
  • User AvatarSue S 4th Jul - 2:13pm
    I know that two or three swallows don't make a summer but by golly don't they give you hope! Thank you thank you thank you....
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 4th Jul - 1:51pm
    On the subject of sex discrimination: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2015/06/21/gender_pay_gap/
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 4th Jul - 1:41pm
    @ Ruth - "Until that woman has her second period of maternity leave and then her career tends towards toast!" That is a quite separate...
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 4th Jul - 1:34pm
    Caron Lindsay 4th Jul '15 - 1:00pm Agreed.
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 4th Jul - 1:32pm
    MrWallace 3rd Jul '15 - 11:13pm "I think a male who grew up on a council estate and went to their local school will be...
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015