Author Archives: Paul Ankers

Opinion: There is one coalition that needs to last

I have been staring at the faces of Lib Dem councillors for days as part of a piece of work I have undertaken.  Although the highlight has been finding out Cllr Ken Ball has managed to wangle Deputy leader of Chorley Council despite leading a group of him and one other Councillor, my abiding thought is that I could have a stand up row with each and every one of you.  And I wouldn’t mind a bit of it.  That’s what being a LibDem is all about.

However, news of yet another splinter group from the left of the …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged , and | 30 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMick Taylor 5th Jul - 3:55pm
    George Potter I can't speak for other regions, but here in Yorkshire we have our own conference and make policy as a region and yes,...
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 5th Jul - 3:35pm
    Just as the UK is culturally and economically diverse, we must recognise this to be true for England and its regions also. The continuation of...
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 5th Jul - 2:39pm
    @ T-J - " Mick Taylor, in many ways I wasn’t English until I came to Scotland. Nasty xenophobic nationalism has just been a fact...
  • User AvatarTony Dawson 5th Jul - 2:31pm
    60,000 migrants. So, this is roughly 90 refugees per constituency in Britain, presumably not all coming at once. Hardly scary electorally, surely, even if manipulated...
  • User AvatarPaul Pettinger 5th Jul - 2:24pm
    Cornwall and most of Devon have been cut off from the rest of UK severals times in recent years due to errosion on the line...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 5th Jul - 1:40pm
    I agree with Mick Taylor that strong regional parties are desirable, but it seems to me that an essential precondition for that is the independent...
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015