Author Archives: Philip Cowley and Mark Stuart

The Independent View: And then there was one… (Unmasked! The only backbench Lib Dem MP 100% loyal to the Coalition)

When a quarter of the parliamentary Conservative party rebels, everyone sits up and takes notice. On 24 October, 2011, 81 Conservative MPs defied a three-line whip to vote in favour of an EU referendum: cue a blaze of negative publicity for David Cameron and the Tory party whips.

But a week or so later one-quarter of Lib Dem MPs rebelled, and (almost) no one noticed. In nine separate votes on 1 and 2 November, a total of 14 Lib Dem MPs voted against various aspects of the Legal Aid, Sentencing and Punishment of Offenders Bill. The largest …

Posted in News, Parliament and The Independent View | Tagged , , , , , , and | 13 Comments

Opinion: the reality is a long way from equidistance

We are, said George Orwell, ‘a nation of flower-lovers, but also a nation of stamp-collectors, pigeon-fanciers, amateur carpenters, coupon-snippers, darts-players, crossword-puzzle fans’.  We think we can top that list.  We collect statistics on parliamentary voting behaviour.

And over the last decade we’ve noticed the remarkable change that has come over Lib Dem MPs.  Out of the 182 whipped votes in the last session of parliament, they voted with the Government on just 22 occasions.  Of the votes that occurred on the Second or Third Reading of Bills – what are effectively the votes on the overall principle of the bill – …

Posted in The Independent View | 22 Comments

Recent Comments

  • User AvatarStimpson 13th Oct - 6:47pm
    The problem is that the referendum could well be treated as a protest vote against the current Tory government, rather than on its own merits....
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 13th Oct - 6:40pm
    David Allen Hence, I argue we must bite the bullet and repudiate at least some substantial elements of our past. Yes, and I have never...
  • User AvatarPhyllis 13th Oct - 6:38pm
    Very very good points being made here by Bolano.
  • User AvatarJoe Otten 13th Oct - 6:35pm
    Clearly our party has a debate to have on economic policy, and this is a small contribution to that - emphasising the political importance of...
  • User AvatarDavidW 13th Oct - 6:34pm
    Well done! Legend!!!!
  • User AvatarStuart 13th Oct - 6:32pm
    Tried to find out what the Lib Dem position is. All I turned up was a statement from the Lib Dems this afternoon lambasting both...
Wed 14th Oct 2015
Thu 15th Oct 2015
Fri 16th Oct 2015
Sat 17th Oct 2015
Sun 18th Oct 2015
Tue 20th Oct 2015
Thu 22nd Oct 2015
Fri 23rd Oct 2015
Sat 24th Oct 2015
Sun 25th Oct 2015
Wed 28th Oct 2015
Thu 29th Oct 2015
Mon 2nd Nov 2015
Wed 4th Nov 2015
Thu 5th Nov 2015
Fri 6th Nov 2015
Sat 7th Nov 2015