Author Archives: Richard Giddings

Opinion: Tackling homophobic bullying in schools

Gay teen supporters of Stonewall and its campaign against homophobic bullying in schools, celebrating London's Gay Pride. July 2009 - Some rights reserved by lewishamdreamerLiberal Democrat colleagues may remember that one of Liberal Youth’s big campaigns was to stop homophobic bullying.

As the former Liberal Youth Chair in Northamptonshire it was a campaign that is very close to my heart. Too many LGBT young people are subjected to terrible abuse and bullying – just because of who they are.

When I was elected to the County Council in 2009 I wanted to do

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged , and | 6 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 3rd Jul - 10:30pm
    Yes Andrew, it does include Crimea, and actually the whole of eastern Ukraine. Self-determination for everyone should be one of the biggest liberal causes.
  • User AvatarAndrew 3rd Jul - 10:10pm
    David, Actually it was Greens 10% Lib Dems 5% in the TNS Holyrood poll (in the non-constituency section; the Greens are not mentioned in the...
  • User AvatarAndrew 3rd Jul - 10:00pm
    Good speech by Paddy! (despite misquoting Edward Lear!)
  • User AvatarAndrew 3rd Jul - 9:48pm
    Eddie, Does it extend to self-determination for Crimea as well? If they had a properly supervised referendum I am pretty sure they would still choose...
  • User AvatarPhyllis 3rd Jul - 9:42pm
    Andrew ""but I do not expect the pledge to be mentioned much if Farron is elected – simply because every time Labour supporters bring it...
  • User AvatarPhyllis 3rd Jul - 9:39pm
    Andrew, yes all that sounds very rational but for the fact that in many people's minds Lib Dem equals 'untrustworthy'. People will remember how sincere...
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015