Author Archives: Richard S. Grayson and Jonathan Rutherford

Opinion: After the Crash – Re-inventing the Left in Britain

Jonathan Rutherford and Richard S. Grayson are the editors of a new book, After the Crash Re-inventing the Left in Britain, available to download as an e-book here. Here they write about why they think all progressive voters need to join together to defeat neo-liberalism in all walks of life.

The election approaches and Britain begins the long haul out of deep recession. In such a crisis, one would expect an alternative to neo-liberalism to be riding high in the polls. Instead, the party which is ahead, the Conservative Party, offers no alternative. The Labour leadership differ only by degrees.  …

Posted in Books and Op-eds | 2 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSimon McGrath 23rd May - 12:41pm
    Caron - you and others have written about what an awful Party the SNP are.As you put it :"they have a strong authoritarian, illiberal streak...
  • User AvatarAlex Macfie 23rd May - 12:40pm
    @TCO: No-one is saying that local election success is a "sufficient" condition for national success. However, I strongly suspect that it is a "necessary" one....
  • User AvatarMartin 23rd May - 12:39pm
    Ryan Coetze certainly puts his finger an some critical problems. Bill le Breton: a response is certainly deserved. The big question is that of coalition....
  • User AvatarIain 23rd May - 12:30pm
    A fuller version of the article: http://inside-politics.org/2015/05/23/causes-and-implications-of-the-liberal-democrats-2015-election-result/
  • User AvatarSara Scarlett 23rd May - 12:17pm
    "Perhaps the best option is to be comfortable in our own skin as Liberal Democrats and articulate a radical, establishment-busting, responsible, planet-saving, freedom-respecting optimistic message."...
  • User AvatarMartin 23rd May - 12:11pm
    Alex Macfie: Whenever has a Party's position in government not affected its performance in local elections? All governments I have ever known have suffered at...
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015