Author Archives: Richard Wingfield

Opinion: Why Liberal Democrats should support lowering the age of consent

Liberal Democrats have long-championed the rights of young people. We were the first major party to call for the voting age to be lowered to 16. We were the only party in 2010 which committed to incorporate the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child into UK law. In government, we have ended the detention of children for immigration purposes. But in one area of personal freedom and development, we remain distinctly illiberal: the age of consent.

In response to the recent calls from Professor John Ashton, president of the Faculty of Public Health, to lower the age of consent …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged , and | 27 Comments

Opinion: Prisoner voting and the rule of law

Liberal Democrats have always been proud defenders of the rule of law. As our manifesto stated in 2010, the values of ‘fairness and the rule of law’ lie at the heart of our foreign policy. However, just as we call on other states such as Burma, Belarus and Zimbabwe to respect the rule of law, so we must be ever vigilant that there is no weakening of this fundamental principle at home. The Liberal Democrat policy on the Justice and Security Bill at conference in September was a powerful reminder to the leadership on how seriously we, as a party, take this issue.

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged and | 14 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatarkevin 6th Jul - 2:24pm
    'Doesn’t that wrongly give the impression that all Muslims as ISIS supporters? Islamic or Muslim terrorists would be more accurate.
  • User Avatarkevin 6th Jul - 2:20pm
    Can't understand why Carmicheal is still there or allowed to be by the party.
  • User AvatarSimon Banks 6th Jul - 2:00pm
    Welcome! The good news is that there are many more new members like you; though not all have got stuck in quite so quickly, they...
  • User AvatarSimon Banks 6th Jul - 1:57pm
    A small amendment. In a Focus being produced literally in-house we once just saved ourselves from stating "the police have a hand job" but failed...
  • User AvatarA Social Liberal 6th Jul - 1:57pm
    From now on I will refer to the terrorist group as Daesh. Not because it has a significantly different meaning from IS/ISIS/ISIL (the full name...
  • User AvatarSteve 6th Jul - 1:52pm
    The gunman trained in Libya. How did that situation occur? That's right, your party was in a government that decided to bomb the country and...
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015