Author Archives: Roger Crouch

Opinion: Rights for cohabiting couples

The progress of the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill through Parliament, with its Second Reading in the House of Commons, should be a cause of celebration amongst Liberal Democrats. As a party we have been, on the whole, united behind these proposals and we should applaud the leadership that Nick Clegg, Lynne Featherstone and, let’s give credit where it is due, David Cameron have demonstrated on this particular issue.

Working in Coalition, Liberal Democrats have introduced legislation which will secure equal marriage in law. I doubt very much whether a single party government, whether Conservative or Labour led, would have dared …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged , and | 48 Comments

Opinion: Vote for Fairer Votes to End Safe Seats

I grew up in Bournemouth, a bucolic place beside the sea where very little disturbs the peace. For over a century, Bournemouth’s politics at parliamentary level have been as sedate. In every election since Queen Victoria was on the throne, the same party has won. A candidate dons a blue rosette, shows up and becomes the MP. Whilst the Liberal Democrats have valiantly tried their best in recent elections, the two Bournemouth constituencies are like many places across the country where General elections do not really matter, where elections are a foregone conclusion, places where real power lies in the …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged , and | 21 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 28th May - 12:59pm
    Richard Shaw rather than resigning ourselves to saying it’s “off the agenda for a generation” and staying quiet – that kind of attitude gets no...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 28th May - 12:54pm
    All the AV referendum tells us is that people voted to choose FPTP over AV. That's not the same as people voting to endorse FPTP...
  • User AvatarAlex H 28th May - 12:53pm
    We should follow the French example ban supermarkets from throwing away food (or fine them if they do) so cut down on waste and with...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 28th May - 12:53pm
    Simon Foster The coalition was more legitimate than the current Conservative Government elected on a minority vote, but still failed to achieve full legitimacy because...
  • User AvatarJonathan Walls 28th May - 12:52pm
    Note: that second link should be http://www.libdems.org.uk/lder (with '.uk' after the '.org'). And here's to campaigning for electoral reform so that everyone has a voice!
  • User AvatarHelen Tedcastle 28th May - 12:47pm
    Alex Lewis ' ... to deny the individual the right to choose when they die is denying them a basic human right' On this point...
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015