Author Archives: Ruth Edmonds

Opinion: Five reasons to go to Eastleigh to help Mike Thornton’s campaign…

Paddy at Eastleigh

It’s really, really close and this election looks like it could shape the general election. This is the time to take a stand and prove that Lib Dems can hold onto Lib Dem seats. We have good things to offer people, we have brought things to the coalition (think pupil premium and the £10,000 tax-threshold) and we have limited some of the more extreme conservative policies.  But to get people to recognise this we have to get the word out and the way to do

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged and | 6 Comments

Opinion: Make a clean break – You shouldn’t flirt behind your partner’s back

On Saturday evening at Brighton, I attended a meeting organised by the Social Liberal Forum (SLF) with the controversial title ‘Disengaging with the Tories before 2015′. A number of equally controversial speakers were featured, including Neal Lawson (Chair of Compass), Stuart Weir (former Director of Democratic Audit) and Green MP, Caroline Lucas.

Between them, they suggested essentially that we break up the coalition as soon as possible and form a progressive leftist coalition. (Lord Renard and Tim Farron were also there and

Posted in Conference and Op-eds | Tagged , and | 20 Comments

Opinion: I’m helping beat Labour in Oldham East & Saddleworth, you can too

I’ve been a member of the Liberal Democrats for two years now. When I saw the leaflets Phil Woolas produced to win Oldham East and Saddleworth in May, it made me angry. When he was expelled from Parliament, I decided to make the trip to help out.

It’s not the quickest journey for me by public transport from Bakewell, Derbyshire (2 trains, 1 tram and 4 hours to be precise!) but I’ve already met people who have travelled just as far and some from even further afield.

I’ve met so many new people here. It’s been a great chance to make …

Posted in Op-eds | 20 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarGeo Meadows 30th Jun - 10:16am
    Caroline Lucas floated the Progressive Alliance idea a few weeks ago, well before Paddy. Defining what progressive means is difficult of course. Greens certainly (too...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 30th Jun - 10:11am
    Andrew The problem is not the people who only vote in General elections, but the fact that many of our local voters (even when we...
  • User AvatarPeter Chivall 30th Jun - 10:04am
    Dodgy physics, Jenny, but never mind. Whichever version of nuclear fission reactors we choose, they will be expensive to build, be up to 10 years...
  • User AvatarRoger Lake 30th Jun - 9:23am
    6. 6.23 "First" See the last para of my starting piece: building the Mayday Alliance should go on alongside all the other things parties do,...
  • User AvatarDal 30th Jun - 9:22am
    There is a hopelessly optimistic dream that runs through a number of LDV posts and comments. It is that one day there will be an...
  • User AvatarSteve 30th Jun - 9:12am
    A very interesting debate. I must get down to reading the Greens manifesto etc as my thoughts had been moving me in that direction for...
Tue 30th Jun 2015
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015