Author Archives: Sandra James

Opinion: The Justice Secretary has got it wrong on privatisation of probation services

Why do governments always assume that they will save money by privatising the public sector?  The Probation Service is now in Chris Grayling’s sights with his plan to hive off low risk offenders to charities and private enterprise leaving the rump Probation Service to concentrate on high risk offenders.

High risk offenders are the sex offenders, domestic violence perpetrators and offenders on indeterminate sentences whose risk prior to release from custody is subject to constant review. As a former probation officer this was my bread and butter work – and incredibly stressful it was too.

I understand that under the Coalition …

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged and | 11 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarIain 22nd May - 3:24pm
    In Cheltenham the Tory literature essentially ignored the Lib Dems, focusing on Miliband and Salmond.
  • User Avatarwayne simmons 22nd May - 3:22pm
    A pro-hunting stance during past voting would be a dealbreaker for me, sadly. It's a lot more clear cut, it seems, than Tim's patchy record...
  • User AvatarAdam Bernard 22nd May - 3:13pm
    It's worth remembering the LDV poll on the recent party election for President, and just how far off it was. LDV members are clearly not...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 22nd May - 3:13pm
    Wayne, he has been telling people over the past few days on Twitter that his position is to keep the law as it is. :)...
  • User AvatarHAN 22nd May - 3:03pm
    I'm a huge fan of Norman. However this article kind of shows why I'm not choosing him. Yes he was a fab Minister and I...
  • User Avatarwayne simmons 22nd May - 2:59pm
    Further supported by this list... http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/1880371.stm
Fri 22nd May 2015
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015