Author Archives: Steven Haynes

Opinion: Let’s end the smoke filled rooms and make the party truly democratic

When Tim Gordon sent out an email announcing the results of the Federal Committee Elections he said:

The Liberal Democrats are a democratic party to the core, and your voting representatives have returned a set of committees which will ensure that members’ voices are heard at all levels of the party.

However, I look at the results as someone who is a member of Liberal Democrats for Electoral Reform, a democracy activist who

Posted in Op-eds and Party policy and internal matters | Tagged and | 32 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarIan Sanderson (RM3) 26th Feb - 11:25pm
    'Exactly how much Xmas bonus is it you want?' Personally, zero would be fine by me, but then I have a fairly generous occupational pension...
  • User AvatarJohn McHugo 26th Feb - 10:35pm
    Toby - I'm glad you agree that recognition is probably due now. You also say it should be "within the 1967 borders subject to agreed...
  • User AvatarJasper Gerard 26th Feb - 10:29pm
    Very sad news. Touching and charmingly written obit Ed. J
  • User AvatarATF 26th Feb - 10:21pm
    UKIP Kiddie We'll see who has more MPs after the election...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th Feb - 9:57pm
    As there happens to be a fairly direct link between a politician's pecuniary interests and the policies he or she can be expected to support,...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th Feb - 9:53pm
    Ideally these places wouldn't exist at all. But even if a full measure of liberty allows for the possibility that such places can exist, there's...
Fri 27th Feb 2015
Sat 28th Feb 2015
Sun 1st Mar 2015
Mon 2nd Mar 2015
18:30
Wed 4th Mar 2015
Sat 7th Mar 2015
Sun 8th Mar 2015
Wed 11th Mar 2015
Fri 13th Mar 2015
Sat 14th Mar 2015
Wed 18th Mar 2015