Author Archives: Steven Haynes

Opinion: Let’s end the smoke filled rooms and make the party truly democratic

When Tim Gordon sent out an email announcing the results of the Federal Committee Elections he said:

The Liberal Democrats are a democratic party to the core, and your voting representatives have returned a set of committees which will ensure that members’ voices are heard at all levels of the party.

However, I look at the results as someone who is a member of Liberal Democrats for Electoral Reform, a democracy activist who

Posted in Op-eds and Party policy and internal matters | Tagged and | 32 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPat 27th Jul - 8:09am
    Are the Conservatives the only political party prepared to have a crack at making Brexit successful? It is so disappointing that the Lib Dems seem...
  • User AvatarDavid Evans 27th Jul - 8:05am
    Sadly, another article telling us how simply wrong so many people are who voted Brexit. Apparently "Many of those Brexiteers have never lived abroad or...
  • User Avatarexpats 27th Jul - 7:45am
    IMO the 'long and the short' of the overwhelming age related gap in voting preference was the nostalgia among the older generation.... A nostalgia for...
  • User AvatarJohn Peters 27th Jul - 6:48am
    malc Perhaps the strategy of suggesting 30% of your supporters are idiots isn't a vote winner. Never mind, it would be completely different result if...
  • User AvatarLorenzo Cherin 27th Jul - 1:13am
    I really commend Fiona , Paul , Richard , for their positive attitude while also recognising the difficult situation our party faces . I am...
  • User AvatarDavid Allen 27th Jul - 12:54am
    On Brexit, this atheist is reminded of the saying "Hate the sin, love the sinner!" Many people misguidedly voted Leave because they held very legitimate...
Thu 28th Jul 2016
Sat 30th Jul 2016
Mon 1st Aug 2016
Wed 3rd Aug 2016
Sat 6th Aug 2016
Wed 10th Aug 2016
Fri 12th Aug 2016
19:00
Sat 13th Aug 2016
Tue 16th Aug 2016
Thu 18th Aug 2016
Sun 21st Aug 2016