Author Archives: Tam Langley

What do women Lib Dems want?

Last summer I wrote a survey that was sent to all party members, as part of informing the creation of a new Lib Dem women’s organisation. Colleagues at the Campaign for Gender Balance and the Women Liberal
Democrats are working on a new constitution, and I hope many Lib Dem Voice readers will consider joining, so please get in touch if you would like further details. Please email me at tamoralangleyATgmail.com, replacing “AT” with “@”.

Perhaps the trickiest issue to resolve, in a party characterised by people who tend to think of themselves as individuals rather than members of a group, is …

Posted in Party policy and internal matters | Tagged | 4 Comments

Opinion: Can pregnant women stand for Parliament?

Standing in the crypt of St Mary’s Church Lewisham asking local Lib Dem members to select me as their parliamentary candidate last summer I did wonder if my very pregnant stomach would put them off. During the selection campaign only one had asked me how I was going to do it with a new baby. “With the help of my partner, several doting grandparents and how about you too?”, was my reply.

Having fought an election campaign while pregnant, then through the first eight months of my baby daughter’s life, I want to let other women thinking of doing the same know that it is possible. It even has some advantages provided you get the help you need to do it.

Why should other Lib Dem Voice readers care? Because as Dinti Batstone highlighted in her research for the party into the under-representation of women among our MPs, ‘too many experienced female candidates self-select out just as their male contemporaries are fighting winnable seats’. And the main reason for that is the perceived incompatibility of the task with family life.

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged and | 12 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJock Coats 26th May - 10:28am
    Another huge aspect of this is that if Ricardo is right, and it looks like he is, then also all surpluses go to rent eventually...
  • User AvatarJenny Barnes 26th May - 10:25am
    Race horses are bred to have light, slender bones, which makes them more prone to breakage. Also makes them faster ofc. Just like professional racing...
  • User AvatarJonathan Pile 26th May - 10:24am
    Since were on the subject of censorship and you have referred to my name as anti-Clegg and referred to my article and then deleted my...
  • User AvatarTCO 26th May - 10:23am
    @malcolm Todd see the repression inherent in the system;-)
  • User AvatarLeftintheLurch 26th May - 10:21am
    Did the story also mention LDB? And my bang bang shoes? I'm am so confused
  • User AvatarSimon Gilbert 26th May - 10:17am
    @Tim P The problem of 'rich widows in mansions' could be resolved in various ways. Someone could take in lodgers if they wished to receive...
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015