Author Archives: William Powell AM

William Powell AM writes…How will we power Wales’ future?

This weekend Gregynog Hall, Montgomeryshire will host the Welsh Liberal Democrat Autumn Conference for the first time in many years. This iconic setting is the perfect place to debate the policies that matter to Wales. Our Leader Kirsty Williams, Montgomeryshire Parliamentary Candidate Jane Dodds and I will be speaking, and Lord Alex Carlile will be addressing our Conference Dinner. In a real sense, it promises to be a case of Welsh Liberalism coming home.

The event will also mark the launch of the Welsh Liberal Democrat’s consultation on Energy Policy in Wales: Powering Wales’ Future.

It is no understatement to say that …

Posted in News | Tagged and | 12 Comments

William Powell AM writes… Why we must protect rural banking

Almost every week brings news of the closure of bank branches in rural areas. As an Assembly Member in Wales representing a large rural region, I know at first hand the real effects of bank closures on local communities and businesses. Latest figures from the Campaign for Community Banking Services, published in September, show that in the last ten years just under 2,000 bank branches have closed. There are now 900 communities that have only one bank branch and 1,200 communities with no bank branch at all. The traditional ‘Big 4’ banks closed 178 branches in 2011. Estimates

Posted in Op-eds | Tagged , , and | 3 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 2nd Jul - 10:44am
    @Tim13 I was quoting Sammy's comment. It would be helpful if people could listen to her experience rather than try to say it doesn't exist....
  • User AvatarTCO 2nd Jul - 10:30am
    It's pretty clear from the tone of most of these anti-Norman posts that the party will fracture. It's just a matter of when.
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 2nd Jul - 10:26am
    I have not read every comment in this thread thoroughly, because it became clear that some we're made from a position of some ignorance of...
  • User AvatarPhil Rimmer 2nd Jul - 10:19am
    Norman, you have lost the plot. That article is so riddled with bad policy, illiberal hints at policy, negative campaigning and unwillingness to accept your...
  • User AvatarRuth Bright 2nd Jul - 10:13am
    Interesting to compare with his line on "split the difference" when he appeared with Tim Farron on the BBC's Victoria Derbyshire programme on June 23....
  • User Avatartheakes 2nd Jul - 10:11am
    I am a supporter of Farron,but this is reckless. He needs to slow down and take a more balanced approach. Fracking in the Fylde could...
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015