Brightening up our high streets

Having high streets which look pleasant rather than grotty should be an aim for local politicians others active in their community. There is the economic reason – businesses tend to do better. There is the safety reason – as the broken windows theory argues and evidence backs up – dealing with grime and grot helps cut crime. There is also a third reason which politicians in particular are often a bit wary of saying, but quite simply having our communities look more pleasant is a desirable end in itself. You do not have to immerse yourself in aesthetic theories to appreciate the value of appearance.

In parts of Bristol there has been some particularly good work at getting street art painted on the shutters of local shops and otherwise bare, ugly walls. This not only brightens up the area, it provides a showcase for artistic talents – and also is an effective tool against graffiti, for once shutters or a wall bear artwork produced by someone in the community, the likelihood of it being covered in tags falls sharply.

Many parts of Canada have a strong tradition of taking this further, with large murals (such as this one featuring Charlie Chaplin illustrates) and decorations to liven up the utility boxes which feature on so many pavements (such as this one from Winnipeg).

Examples of painted utility boxes in the UK are far rarer, though clever pieces of artwork are present on some such as this example in Brixton.

So it was great to see these two examples in Southwark recently, along Borough High Street:

And here also from Borough High Street is what happens when you leave a utility cabinet unadorned:

If you are a councillor, why not try to do something similar in your own patch?

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in Op-eds.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/26016 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

5 Comments

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSIMON BANKS 27th May - 8:49pm
    Thanks for this post, David. Another point to note is that people were engaged and excited by an issue which affected very few of them...
  • User AvatarPsi 27th May - 8:47pm
    David Allan "Why should this suddenly reverse when it is the rich we are talking about? Why is it that the best way to justify...
  • User Avatarnvelope2003 27th May - 8:42pm
    R Rossim: No of course it was not the reason for the election result but I think many people felt that some of the things...
  • User Avatarhugh 27th May - 8:41pm
    Joe, the Conservative got the support of less than 1 in 4 of those eligible to vote. They do not represent the people of this...
  • User AvatarStephen Donnelly 27th May - 8:39pm
    Whilst no doubt some of the detail is debatable, your direction of travel is spot on. We need to move away from a party that...
  • User AvatarPsi 27th May - 8:37pm
    Matthew Huntbach "It’s not just down to luck, unless by “luck” you include being lucky with the parents you had." I don't agree most is...
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015