Chris Rennard steps aside from party roles to avoid “embarrassment” to Lib Dems

Further to the allegations broadcast on last night’s Channel 4 News that former Lib Dem chief executive Lord (Chris) Rennard behaved sexually inappropriately towards women working for the Liberal Democrats, he has announced he’s stepping aside from his current active roles within the party — as a Lib Dem peer and a member of the party’s federal policy committee — to avoid “embarrassment” to the party. Here‘s the Telegraph report:

The top Lib Dem official official will temporarily stand down from his party duties to avoid “embarrassment” to the party, after several women made accusations about his conduct on Channel Four News. The peer resigned from his role as chief executive in 2009 but was still actively involved in the Liberal Democrats. He will now withdraw from the party’s group in the House of Lords, which means he will not be able to vote with his party on any issues. He will also leave from the party’s federal policy committee, which is responsible for coming up with ideas for the Liberal Democrat manifesto.

In view of ongoing investigations and for legal reasons comments on this post will be disabled.

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/33348 for Twitter and emails.
Advert
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 29th May - 2:06am
    By the way, I was following the hustings on Twitter and Norman made a great point about not becoming an "adjunct" of one of the...
  • User AvatarCharlie 29th May - 1:47am
    John Dunn Thank you. Until 1850 , the Industrial revolution was created by numerate craftsmen, there was no need for higher mathematics. The development by...
  • User AvatarKevin McNamara 29th May - 12:42am
    Helen, do you have any compelling arguments that the rest of those 12k people are vulnerable, and not just unable to access assisted dying? Your...
  • User AvatarKevin McNamara 29th May - 12:29am
    It's all well and good to talk about people being in denial, but those saying this should say what we need to soul search for...
  • User AvatarAndrew Whyte 29th May - 12:02am
    I'm not sure that AV referendum told us anything. Opponents of reform cleverly cast their campaign as an opportunity to kick that lying swine Nick...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 28th May - 11:47pm
    Good video, but personally I believe Lamb needs to throw caution to the wind. It all still seems a bit safe. Maybe that is the...
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015