Clegg slams Tories at Eastleigh for “breath-taking opportunism”

nick clegg eastleighFrom PoliticsHome:

Nick Clegg has accused the Conservatives of “breath-taking” opportunism over their campaign in Eastleigh.

The Tories have run posters criticising Lib Dem candidate Mike Thornton for backing a housing development on greenfield land in the constituency.

But the Liberal Democrat leader hit out at the campaign, and questioned how his Coalition partners would solve the housing shortage in the area.

“I flatly reject the cynicism, the opportunism, it’s really breath-taking from the Conservatives, who have no plan to protect green spaces elsewhere, no plan to provide affordable homes”, he told BBC Radio Solent.

The Deputy Prime Minister also repeated his criticism of Tory opposition to a mansion tax, saying “we believe in fairer taxes, the Conservatives don’t”.

* Newshound: bringing you the best Lib Dem commentary published in print or online.

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/33399 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJennie 1st Jul - 9:58pm
    Excellent article Caron, thank you
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 1st Jul - 9:54pm
    "And btw how did you manage to edit your post??" I'm on the editorial team. I can do anything. ;-)
  • User AvatarAndrew 1st Jul - 9:54pm
    Peter, I do however have some sympathy with your view about destroying the world economy. I would be moving the discussion on to putting money...
  • User AvatarAntony Hook 1st Jul - 9:50pm
    Speaking as Catherine's running mate last year, no-one knows better than I that she is a tireless servant of the people of the South East...
  • User AvatarAndrew 1st Jul - 9:44pm
    Peter, I don't really want to get into a discussion of the details of climate change models. However I am pretty sure the summary for...
  • User AvatarTsar Nicholas 1st Jul - 9:30pm
    IMF director Paulo Batista says that the bailout money went to save the skins of German and French banks: http://www.keeptalkinggreece.com/2015/03/04/imfs-director-batista-greek-bailout-was-to-save-german-french-banks-video/
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015