Clegg slams Tories at Eastleigh for “breath-taking opportunism”

nick clegg eastleighFrom PoliticsHome:

Nick Clegg has accused the Conservatives of “breath-taking” opportunism over their campaign in Eastleigh.

The Tories have run posters criticising Lib Dem candidate Mike Thornton for backing a housing development on greenfield land in the constituency.

But the Liberal Democrat leader hit out at the campaign, and questioned how his Coalition partners would solve the housing shortage in the area.

“I flatly reject the cynicism, the opportunism, it’s really breath-taking from the Conservatives, who have no plan to protect green spaces elsewhere, no plan to provide affordable homes”, he told BBC Radio Solent.

The Deputy Prime Minister also repeated his criticism of Tory opposition to a mansion tax, saying “we believe in fairer taxes, the Conservatives don’t”.

* Newshound: bringing you the best Lib Dem commentary published in print or online.

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/33399 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJohn Innes 28th May - 8:43am
    I would vote for Tim Farron's priority.
  • User Avatarexpats 28th May - 8:33am
    Glenn 27th May '15 - 11:30pm ................I worked with a night shelter for a couple of weeks, mainly reorganising their filing system. A lot of...
  • User AvatarPeter Watson 28th May - 8:20am
    Matthew Huntbach "The line “we’ll give a brain to a Labour government and a heart to a Conservative one” was NOT neutral." I agree entirely....
  • User AvatarIan Sanderson (RM3) 28th May - 8:19am
    One policy, however well-intentioned, is hardly 'recognition'. As an SAO. ALDES is an integral part of the the Liberal Democrats, and has undertaken the role...
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 28th May - 8:12am
    What a good speech! Anyone who believed all that guff about only being a party of protest before 2010 should read through the biography (so...
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 28th May - 7:59am
    Excellent description, Psi. Common ground is exporting your values across the ideological and geographic divide. How you win in an adversarial political society. Centre ground...
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015