Conservative Bedford woes

Fresh from losing the Mayor election in Bedford to Dave Hodgson comes this news of further Conservative problems, via the BBC:

The leader of the Conservative group on Bedford Borough Council has been suspended from the party for two years.

The Tory Party said the action against Nicky Attenborough was taken because of comments she made about the selection process for the Tory mayoral candidate.

She described the open meeting, where non-Conservative Party members had a vote, as a disgrace.

Read more by or more about or .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/16611 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

3 Comments

  • Oh dear another Conservative Association in civil war mode – see Southport and St Albans for similar.

  • John is right to say that the civil war that is being waged in Southport in not unique. In our case our Tories appear to have been infiltrated by a very odd bunch who I guess Cameron wouldn’t like anymore than those they are trying to oust.. Some of it is really nasty personal stuff, some of it is petty-like refusing to pay Sir Ron Watson’s expences to the LGA. It is not a dispute about ideology. Have a look

    http://birkdalefocus.blogspot.com/2009/10/book-exposes-venom-at-heart-of.html

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 29th May - 3:07pm
    Paul Holmes, sorry you are right that this criticism can equally be applied to those who wished the party to become more aligned with the...
  • User AvatarPeter Sigrist 29th May - 2:50pm
    @John Tilley - I suspect you refer to the Sigrist whose name was on the flight controls of the Sopwith Camel. Unfortunately, I can claim...
  • User AvatarPaul Holmes 29th May - 2:47pm
    Eddie, when Norman says we 'should not be an adjunct to another Party' you say you see this as a 'polite critique of those who...
  • User AvatarPeter 29th May - 2:44pm
    I have frequently seen reference to the "evil, wicked Tories" on this site. It is not a good direction on a number of levels. I...
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 29th May - 2:37pm
    @Phyllis: I was taking the word *Know* literally to that of the personal level, as suggested by postings on here which some members inside the...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 29th May - 2:27pm
    A very good article. I feel fairly confident when I walk alone at night and I want more people to feel like this. There are...
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015