Conservatives rope in Squier, Knapp, Dunn Communications

Iain Martin’s general election commentary for the Wall Street Journal is rapidly become a must-read for me due to his record of unearthing useful bits of extra information that shed an extra light on the big political stories.

This week he had a good piece on the Conservative Party’s preparation for televised party leader debates during the general election:

Advisers close to U.S. President Barack Obama have been drafted by David Cameron to help the Conservatives in their election campaign against Gordon Brown and Labour.

The Tories have signed a contract with Squier, Knapp, Dunn Communications—a Washington-based Democrat-leaning political consultancy— to help them prepare for the first-ever television debates between leaders during a British election campaign.

That firm’s name is familiar to me as I know someone who has worked with them in American politics, so I asked them what they made of this appointment.

Their response:

Certainly explains where a large chunk of the Tories cash will be going. SKD are one of the most expensive firms out there.

That certainly fits with the pattern of a party that employs a head of communications (Andy Coulson) on a higher salary than the Prime Minister.

Read more by or more about , , , , or .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/18112 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarManfarang 2nd Jul - 2:14am
    Writing some good Focus leaflets should help awaken people.
  • User AvatarTsar Nicholas 1st Jul - 11:56pm
    It doesn't matter whether Peter Wadhams' views are mainstream or not. What matters is whether the data points to the conclusions he reaches, and they...
  • User AvatarMike S 1st Jul - 11:52pm
    Gerry M "Tim Farron was one of the 21 Lib Dem MPs who kept their Pledge. Norman Lamb was one of the 36 Lib Dem...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 1st Jul - 11:36pm
    @Phyllis I think that's part of the problem in the Lib Dems: people either don't care, genuinely believe it's all totally not true/made up or...
  • User AvatarLiberal Neil 1st Jul - 11:23pm
    I'm very proud of a fair few few things I've done for the Lib Dems, but helping to get Catherine elected as our MEP is...
  • User AvatarPeter 1st Jul - 11:09pm
    I hoped my visit here was finally over. I’m sure regulars did too. Then I discovered this gem. In Germany, the transition to wind power...
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015