Dee Doocey elected chair of London Assembly

From a news release by the Liberal Democrat London Assembly Group:

The London Assembly has today elected Dee Doocey AM as its new Chair for 2010/11. Jennette Arnold AM has been re-elected as Deputy Chair. At their Annual Meeting Assembly Members also re-established a number of committees to examine the Mayor of London’s policies and investigate issues of importance to London.

Chair of the London Assembly Dee Doocey AM said:

“I am honoured that my colleagues have chosen me to lead the Assembly for the year ahead. I will do my utmost to justify their confidence in handing me this additional opportunity to serve Londoners. I am also proud to be the first Irish person to Chair the London Assembly.

At this changing time in our national political landscape it is more important than ever that London has a strong voice and powerful advocates to make the case for funding vital projects like Crossrail. The London Assembly is determined to ensure that the sound arguments for investing in the capital’s future, and the benefits that will also bring to the rest of the country, do not go unheard.

In the months ahead the Assembly will continue to monitor the refinement of the Mayor’s strategies and measure what impact they do or do not have on the quality of life in London. We will also continue to challenge the London 2012 team to deliver not just an excellent Games but also the long term benefits the capital was promised in the bid.”

You can also listen to Dee’s acceptance speech via Audioboo, courtesy of Mayorwatch:

Listen!

Congratulations Dee.

Read more by or more about , or .
This entry was posted in London and News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/19490 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

2 Comments

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRoger Lake 29th Jun - 11:55pm
    To save time, may I just quote the exact time against your response, and answer each in txurn? As yo see, I don't type well....
  • User AvatarStewart 29th Jun - 11:25pm
    Andrew: "and the rich, who would be abolished, basically, with the Schumacher policy of no-one getting more that 12 times the lowest paid" Sounds good,...
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 29th Jun - 11:05pm
    7. "Economic protectionism seems to be on the rise in the UK, with opposition on the right to Britain’s membership of the European Union’s single...
  • User AvatarRoger Lake 29th Jun - 9:44pm
    Thanks to everyone who has responded. I have been out this evening, but will attempt soon to tackle the misgivings. Some of them, though, seem...
  • User AvatarAndrew 29th Jun - 9:43pm
    Richard, If turnout in General Elections was the problem why did Westmoreland and Lonsdale have pretty much the highest turnout in the north of England...
  • User AvatarKevin Manley 29th Jun - 9:42pm
    I guess the answer to the author's question, based on the number and tone of a lot of the responses, is - yes! To me...
Mon 29th Jun 2015
Tue 30th Jun 2015
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015