Eric Pickles slams Conservative councils for wasting money

What else can one make of this? Eric Pickles has been in the media today calling for pay cuts for the most highly paid local council chief executives. But what’s this at the foot of the report about Eric Pickles and his proposals The Times? It’s a list of the eight highest paid local council chief executives.

I think you can guess what might be coming next …

Yes indeed, let’s look at who runs these councils:

Bexley (Conservative)
Ealing (Conservative)
Hertfordshire (Conservative)
Kensington & Chelsea (Conservative)
Kingston upon Hull (Lib Dem)
Newham (Labour)
Suffolk County Council (Conservative)
Surrey County Council (Conservative)

Yup, that would be six out of eight of the top paying councils are Conservative-run. So in other words, much of what Eric Pickles is saying really amounts to, ‘look what an awful job so many Conservative councillors are doing wasting our money’.

Footnote: Eric Pickles, the Conservative MP for Brentwood and Ongar and Shadow Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government, has a habit of attacking his own party’s record in local government, as with his dispute with Paul Bettison over waste collection policies.

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in Local government.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/8780 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

3 Comments

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid Cooper 25th May - 4:29pm
    @Eddie Sammon "maybe some reforms could be made?" No, the ECHR cannot be reformed by a single clause unless all 47 members unanimously agree. New...
  • User Avatarnvelope2003 25th May - 4:27pm
    We have a crisis in the NHS, in the education system, public transport, housing, and a huge deficit and National Debt and what are the...
  • User AvatarMalcolm Todd 25th May - 4:18pm
    "I don’t want the tax officials snooping around people’s houses." Which is why a land tax is a good idea, Eddie (well, it's one reason)...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 25th May - 4:06pm
    Richard - 'Most people are UK citizens, or not, by chance of birth. I suspect those who believe that we should have empathy for all...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 25th May - 3:56pm
    'I think it punishes people who have bought land for no good reason.' Surely the point of an LVT is that it might be your...
  • User AvatarRichard 25th May - 3:54pm
    @ Little Jackie Paper "... as they aren’t citizens my sympathy is somewhat limited". Already we see the referendum battle lines emerging. Most people are...
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015