Eric Pickles slams Conservative councils for wasting money

What else can one make of this? Eric Pickles has been in the media today calling for pay cuts for the most highly paid local council chief executives. But what’s this at the foot of the report about Eric Pickles and his proposals The Times? It’s a list of the eight highest paid local council chief executives.

I think you can guess what might be coming next …

Yes indeed, let’s look at who runs these councils:

Bexley (Conservative)
Ealing (Conservative)
Hertfordshire (Conservative)
Kensington & Chelsea (Conservative)
Kingston upon Hull (Lib Dem)
Newham (Labour)
Suffolk County Council (Conservative)
Surrey County Council (Conservative)

Yup, that would be six out of eight of the top paying councils are Conservative-run. So in other words, much of what Eric Pickles is saying really amounts to, ‘look what an awful job so many Conservative councillors are doing wasting our money’.

Footnote: Eric Pickles, the Conservative MP for Brentwood and Ongar and Shadow Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government, has a habit of attacking his own party’s record in local government, as with his dispute with Paul Bettison over waste collection policies.

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in Local government.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/8780 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

3 Comments

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid-1 3rd Jul - 6:06pm
    Some of the comments above seem to emanate from a fantasy land in which there are "devolved matters" related to England. England does not have...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 3rd Jul - 6:02pm
    How can there be special rules for votes on "English laws," a category of law which does not even exist? If there is an interest...
  • User AvatarPeter Galton 3rd Jul - 5:45pm
    There are so many reason why are vote fell back. If we look at results from the past both in Britain and else where we...
  • User AvatarDavid 3rd Jul - 5:35pm
    Well done. You know, I don't think the public are so anti line dem and I don't think recovery should take 20 years, I think...
  • User AvatarAndrew Lye 3rd Jul - 5:24pm
    Please don't criticise over the spelling of the word councillor. I have a hell of a time on my tablet and smartphone with predictive text....
  • User AvatarDavid 3rd Jul - 5:21pm
    @george the voters in England were asked if the wanted a regional assembly and rejected it. So we have what we have, now please explain...
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015