What does Eric Pickles think of Andy Coulson’s salary?

I only wonder but … the job of being a local council Chief Executive involves being responsible for far more staff, far bigger budgets and (much though I think my colleagues in our media team are important) far more important issues than heading up a media team.

The awful fallout if a council bungles its Children’s Services is perhaps the starkest indication of how much more important running a council is than running a media team.

Yesterday Eric Pickles was in the news attacking councils, some of whom paying their chief executives six figures salaries. Leaving aside the embarrassing for him point that six out of the eight top council payers are in fact Conservative controlled, I wonder where this leaves his view of Andy Coulson’s £270,000 salary as the Conservative Party’s Head of Communications?

Surely on his own logic, that must be a very inflated salary and rather a waste of Conservative Party members’ funds? Just thought I’d ask.

Read more by or more about , or .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/8818 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

9 Comments

  • Since you people are so keen at sneering at the Tories, perhaps you might want to remind yourselves of 3 reasons to be contrite:

    Check out Mr Isaby’s nomination for the worst gaffe of 2008 at Con Home. Who needs Andy Coulson more, the Tories or you lot?

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAndrew 4th Jul - 4:19pm
    I hesitate to get involved in this discussion (as a man - does that say something?) However perhaps the key to ending any relative career...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 4th Jul - 4:13pm
    Ribble Valley had for us a candidate who was local and had stood before, an agent who had just won at Eastbourne, a county councillor...
  • User AvatarRuth Bright 4th Jul - 4:07pm
    jedibeeftrix - most women have babies so how is it separate from gender?! David - the "obsession" with gender in this organisation in particular is...
  • User AvatarAndrew 4th Jul - 3:19pm
    Phyllis, No, if "Lib Dem = untrustworthy" we would have no councillors left. The focus of all the opprobrium was very much Nick Clegg (and...
  • User AvatarDavid 4th Jul - 2:21pm
    @ Caron. Yes a female from a working class background will have a harder time than a male from the same background, a disabled person...
  • User AvatarSue S 4th Jul - 2:13pm
    I know that two or three swallows don't make a summer but by golly don't they give you hope! Thank you thank you thank you....
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015