Five of the best political adverts: Labour’s Tax Bombshell

This week we’re running a series featuring five of the most effective political adverts. Today the series finishes with the Conservative 1992 classic:

Labour’s margin of victory in 1997 was so great that it would have almost certainly won even if it had run an appalling set of adverts rather than ones of the quality of yesterday’s party political broadcast.

However, Labour’s defeat in the previous 1992 election had a lot to do with the way the Conservatives expertly attacked Labour’s economic policies via advertising, raising fears of a tax bombshell that would hit ordinary people.

As with the Australian Labor Party’s It’s Time, this was not a stand-alone advert but part of a wider communications campaign, highlighting how even the very best of political advertisements only rarely work well in a vacuum. Instead they use the creative power of an advert to tap into wider fears and hopes.

Here’s the advert:

Labour's Tax Bombshell

You can see all the posts in this series on our Political Ads page – and scroll to the bottom of that page for Luis Fishman’s classic. The stretch from 7 seconds in until 22 seconds in is fairly normal. But as for the rest…

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in Op-eds.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/22298 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSteve 30th Jun - 9:12am
    A very interesting debate. I must get down to reading the Greens manifesto etc as my thoughts had been moving me in that direction for...
  • User AvatarJenny Barnes 30th Jun - 9:00am
    "PWRs burn up only a small part of the fuel leaving the majority furiously radioactive and dangerous for 100,000s years." Radioactivity works in terms of...
  • User AvatarTim Oliver 30th Jun - 8:48am
    Once again - I did not join an anti-Tory party. I joined a Liberal party. My politics are not about who I oppose but what...
  • User AvatarTony Dawson 30th Jun - 8:18am
    @Andrew "The problem is not the people who only vote in General elections, but the fact that many of our local voters (even when we...
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 30th Jun - 7:09am
    All these hustings meetings and all these questionnaire replies buy the real choice is -- "Who is best equipped to save the party from extinction?"...
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 30th Jun - 6:51am
    Eddie Sammon 30th Jun '15 - 3:08am John, by “hard-headed” I mean “what wins sustainable votes”. Thanks Eddie, so you mean we should have a...
Tue 30th Jun 2015
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015