How Clegg switched sides at half-time

No, not more revelations from the memoirs of New Labour’s svengali, Lord (Peter) Mandelson – rather a diary piece by Hugh Muir in the Guardian.

LDV readers may recall Nick Clegg’s conflicted loyalties in deciding whether to support Holland or Spain in Sunday’s World Cup final. It appears he found out a way to resolve them:

… at a cross-party reception for the Lib Dem thinktank Centre Forum, the deputy prime minister admitted that while he began watching the World Cup final supporting Holland, as the Diary said he would, he switched sides halfway through and began rooting for the Spanish. A protest against Dutch dirty play, he says. But Labour types may feel therein lies a trait. During the game, he disclosed, a text arrived from his new best friend, Prime Minister Cameron. “I hope relations in the Clegg household are not under strain,” it said. “We are accustomed to coalition politics here,” replied the Lib Dem.

It seems unlikely somehow that switching from supporting the team in Orange to the team in roja is a habit Nick will allow to spill over into his politics.

Read more by or more about , , , or .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/20294 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

2 Comments

  • No he’ll be supporting Les Bleus next time round

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRobert Thomas 29th May - 1:03pm
    Can't we fight for human rights without labeling all criticism of Islam, Israel, Judaism ect, ect as hate speech? Anti-Arab racism and Islamophobia are not...
  • User AvatarTCO 29th May - 12:58pm
    @theakes - 14/12 seats is a far better ratio than 290/57
  • User Avatarexpats 29th May - 12:55pm
    Matthew Huntbach 29th May '15 - 12:13pm ................. We need coherent and rational politics which no-one is offering right now............... Perhaps but with the current...
  • User Avatartheakes 29th May - 12:49pm
    During those three years we have to get the local government base in the Midlands, North, Scotland and Wales moving forward, it does not have...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 29th May - 12:44pm
    D McKay My experience has been that Local Authorities do not a) have money or b) want to attract people in this situation into their...
  • User AvatarTCO 29th May - 12:33pm
    @Tim13 I haven't made a choice yet. I'm waiting to see what each candidate comes out with in terms of reassurance about objectivity.
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015