Influence of Sarah Palin and the Tea Party drops off

In the New York Times, Michael D Shear reports that the influence of Sarah Palin and the Tea Party has waned during the US Republican Presidential primaries:

In October, Sarah Palin announced that she would not run for president in 2012, ending the media frenzy around her potential candidacy even as she vowed to remain politically active and influential.

“I will continue driving the discussion for freedom and free markets,” she wrote in an e-mail to her supporters.

Just over three months later her attempts to wield influence in the presidential campaign the way she did during the 2010 midterm elections have largely fizzled.

…Over the last two weeks,, Ms. Palin has urged voters in South Carolina and Florida to vote for Newt Gingrich as a way of striking back against the Republican establishment in Washington and against liberals.

Despite a stunning win in South Carolina, Gingrich was way behind Romney in Florida.

You can read the full article here.

* Paul Walter is a Liberal Democrat activist in Newbury and West Berkshire. He is part of the Liberal Democrat Voice team and blogs at Liberal Burblings.

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/26934 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Most Read

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 29th May - 11:08pm
    @Peter: "The right to enjoy endless money provided by others would be a wonderful thing." I thought that was what marriage "to death do us...
  • User AvatarPeter 29th May - 10:56pm
    The right to enjoy endless money provided by others would be a wonderful thing. Everyone should be entitled to that. Sadly, someone has to pay....
  • User AvatarGeoffrey Payne 29th May - 10:48pm
    Jo Grimond was leader of the Liberal party in the 1960s. He was once asked; Isn't your Liberal party nothing more than a protest vote...
  • User AvatarRuth Bright 29th May - 10:43pm
    The MPs are all men so perhaps: "We are the 48%" would make a better slogan.
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 29th May - 10:38pm
    John Dunn - 'can we really blame people for optimising profit from their skills.?' Oh, sure I agree - no blame attached to the staff....
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 29th May - 10:34pm
    @Peter: "Those who contribute nothing but receive benefits should not be able to enjoy an unlimited income paid for by the hard pressed taxpayer." We...
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015