Japan adds Twitter to the list of internet services banned in elections

Last year I blogged about the unusual attitude towards the internet in Japan:

It’s been a democracy for over 50 years.

60% of its population has access to high speed broadband.

More blogs are written in its native language than in any other language.

And the country is … Japan, where: “Once an official campaign has started, candidates are barred from updating their home pages, launching or amending blogs—podcasts are allowed because the law applies only to text or images—posting political statements or sending text messages to mobile phones. Additional regulations prohibit donors from using credit cards online to support candidates, effectively preventing online fundraising.”

It is then at least in keeping with Japanese electoral traditional for Twitter to now be banned too:

Japan’s cabinet has placed a ban on candidates using Twitter for the country’s upcoming House of Representatives election campaign.

Citing the Public Offices Election Law, the government has deemed Twitter content to fall under the “literature and images” clause within the law. (The Blog Herald. Hat-tip: er… Twitter.)

Last year there were some signs in local elections of the public being willing to go around this law, with YouTube being used to cover political speeches and Wikipedia being updated during election campaigns. Although the police sent out warnings, no arrests were made. So perhaps the Twitter ban in practice will simply further encourage people to ignore the law.

Read more by or more about or .
This entry was posted in Online politics.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/15713 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

One Comment

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 29th May - 2:06am
    By the way, I was following the hustings on Twitter and Norman made a great point about not becoming an "adjunct" of one of the...
  • User AvatarCharlie 29th May - 1:47am
    John Dunn Thank you. Until 1850 , the Industrial revolution was created by numerate craftsmen, there was no need for higher mathematics. The development by...
  • User AvatarKevin McNamara 29th May - 12:42am
    Helen, do you have any compelling arguments that the rest of those 12k people are vulnerable, and not just unable to access assisted dying? Your...
  • User AvatarKevin McNamara 29th May - 12:29am
    It's all well and good to talk about people being in denial, but those saying this should say what we need to soul search for...
  • User AvatarAndrew Whyte 29th May - 12:02am
    I'm not sure that AV referendum told us anything. Opponents of reform cleverly cast their campaign as an opportunity to kick that lying swine Nick...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 28th May - 11:47pm
    Good video, but personally I believe Lamb needs to throw caution to the wind. It all still seems a bit safe. Maybe that is the...
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015