Julian Huppert MP writes: Quick update on secret courts

Mike Crockart and I just called a vote to remove secret courts from the Justice and Security Bill, in line with Conference’s motion.

Despite highlighting in the debate that they supported closed proceedings in principle, Labour saw an opportunity to make mischief and eventually backed us. But due to DUP support for the Tories, we lost 10-9.

I’ll give a fuller update to everyone concerned soon. Suffice to say there will be more crucial votes to come on the Committee, and the Government has to move or the Bill will not pass as is.

* Julian Huppert is Liberal Democrat MP for Cambridge.

Read more by or more about , or .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/33059 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

6 Comments

  • Well done. Keep up the pressure. No dissent from me here!

  • Keep it up Julian.

  • David Evans 5th Feb '13 - 7:04pm

    Keep the pressure on!

  • Peter Andrews 5th Feb '13 - 7:25pm

    Keep up the good work

  • Nigel jones 6th Feb '13 - 3:14pm

    Well done. Keep up the pressure. It is actions that you are taking which are helping keep many of us active in the party that we feel needs to go back to its roots for the next election manifesto, (which of course does not necessarily mean going backwards in time).

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 24th May - 7:41am
    This is like a taxi driver you hired to take your kids to school and he drove the car over a cliff, or a builder...
  • User AvatarAlex Macfie 24th May - 7:40am
    John Roffey: "the decline in the Party’s fortunes began with NC’s breaking of his pledge on tuition fees"</ No, it began long before that, perhaps...
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 24th May - 7:03am
    What we have is a constitutional monarchy (ie., a democrat one). A constitutional monarchy in which the monarch's power is limited by a written constitution...
  • User AvatarJohn Roffey 24th May - 6:47am
    I suppose it is to be accepted that many members of the Party are still in denial given the extent of its rejection by the...
  • User AvatarShirley Campbell 24th May - 12:54am
    Wow, when did Liberalism abandon radicalism? Wow, when Liberals abandoned the Liberal Party and set up the Liberal Democratic Party. Please folk research Liberalism and...
  • User AvatarMartin 24th May - 12:10am
    Tony Greaves: Do you think that we would not have won a referendum on gay marriage? More seriously, as a Liberal do you not have...
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015