Lib Dem peer Avebury on working in your 80s

Yesterday’s Guardian carries a feature on three people who have worked way beyond the age when they can collect their State Pension.

One of those is Liberal Democrat Peer Eric Avebury, who has written several articles for Liberal Democrat Voice.

At 84, he’s still attending the House of Lords 4 days a week.

He talks of the driving force that keeps him going:

As I have got older I have become more and more keen on the idea of equality. The evidence shows that most of the ills of society – such as crime, mental illness and so on – are deeply correlated with inequality. I don’t feel there is prejudice directed at me for my age and nor is there particular respect. People realise equality applies to age as it does to gender, race and everything else, and that is the way it should be.

And why he thinks working is good for him.

 On my 80th birthday, I said I am never going to retire and I have stuck to that. It would have been a great disadvantage if I didn’t have work. People who don’t do anything after a certain age decline – the lack of mental stimulation has a bearing on your physical side too.

You can read the whole article here.

* Caron Lindsay is Editor of Liberal Democrat Voice and blogs at Caron's Musings

Read more by or more about , or .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/33194 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

One Comment

  • As one of Eric’s team of workers in the Orpington by-election (my first heady exposure to Liberal politics) l can only say we did well in getting this remarkable man into the House of Commons. If anything his star has been even more ascendant in the House of Lords. Well done Eric. Keep up the good work!

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPhilip Rolle 30th May - 1:56am
    I very much agree that far too many agency staff are employed in the public sector is this needs to be tackled. Another thing that...
  • User AvatarJohn Bland 30th May - 1:43am
    I write this first comment as a new member awaiting the paperwork. I joined the party on the party because I am pro European (accepting...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 30th May - 12:48am
    @AWills Due to the massacre at the election the number of privately educated MP's we have has fallen massively of course, but the fact remains...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 30th May - 12:41am
    What's not mentioned is that the Palestinians actually withdrew their motion before a vote could be held on it - they are, however, continuing to...
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 30th May - 12:16am
    @Peter: I presume you mean something constructive in the proposal (with perhaps a hint of utopia). Cordially,
  • User AvatarAWills 30th May - 12:07am
    I'm sorry but if we think that by making the MPs look more diverse we can change our fortunes we are mistaken. It's a desirable...
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015