'dangling' Lib Dem Two) may have to wait until next week to find out whether they will be reinstated following their disqualification in May." />

Lib Dem Welsh AMs await their fate as report delayed

John Dixon and Aled Roberts (the ‘dangling’ Lib Dem Two) may have to wait until next week to find out whether they will be reinstated following their disqualification in May.

WalesOnline reports:

Members of all parties were due to receive a copy of an Assembly report yesterday afternoon into the case of Aled Roberts and John Dixon, who are accused of breaching rules by remaining affiliated to organisations whose members are barred from standing for office.

The report, by Gerard Elias QC, the Assembly’s Commissioner for Standards, was sent to party leaders over the weekend, and was due to go to AMs yesterday prior to group meetings today.

AMs were due to vote tomorrow on whether to overturn the rules and allow the pair back into the Assembly. But that vote is likely to be postponed until next week – the final week before the summer recess – after the report failed to land in their inboxes.

Read more by or more about , , or .
This entry was posted in Election law, News and Wales.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/24636 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAlex Macfie 25th May - 6:23pm
    @TCO: We DID win seats from Labour in 2005. For historical reasons there were far fewer Labour/Lib Dem marginals than Tory/Lib Dem ones. Despite this,...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 25th May - 6:23pm
    I want EU citizens to be allowed to vote on it, but not 16 and 17 year olds. The referendum needs to be respected by...
  • User AvatarManfarang 25th May - 6:21pm
    Never mind empathy, all British citizens should be able to vote where ever they are.
  • User AvatarSimon Gilbert 25th May - 6:09pm
    Dear Eddie, with a place to live and the work of your body and mind you always have hope. I would prefer people hold shares,...
  • User AvatarR Rossim 25th May - 5:34pm
    nvelope2003 It is really not the only thing the Liberal Democrats are "worrying about". There is a lot else being discussed around here, and I...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 25th May - 5:18pm
    Each candidate will need to give a view on the large number of citizens who do not choose to register to vote. For some of...
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015