LibLink: Mark Pack – Give people power over the sharing of their data

The Voice‘s Mark Pack has been writing about individual electoral registration for the IPPR’s website:

If I were to move, I would be quite happy to let the gas company, the TV Licensing authority, the local council’s tax department, the electoral registration services and many others know, all in one go.

Other people may well not be happy to do the same – but in the desire to ensure that those who want to keep data separate rightly have their rights respected we have too often overlooked the opportunities to make it easier to share data wherever people are happy for this to happen.

So what should be done? Read Mark Pack’s post in full to find out.

* Newshound: bringing you the best Lib Dem commentary published in print or online.

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in Election law and LibLink.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url for Twitter and emails.

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?


Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDav 13th Oct - 5:22pm
    But this doesn’t mean that all ages are equally good, and it is quite proper to have a debate over whether 16 or 18 is...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 13th Oct - 5:21pm
    I too cringed when Stuart Rose started calling people who disagreed with him "quitters" and "inward looking". After a good start talking about a hard...
  • User AvatarJayne Mansfield 13th Oct - 5:19pm
    Lord Rose admitted his support for Business for Britain and his belief that there needs to be reform of the EU, but it seems that...
  • User AvatarDavid Raw 13th Oct - 5:17pm
    Quite agree, Caron. Getting four fat cats : Rose, Brady, Branson and Reed to front the campaign hardly fills me with enthusiasm. Rose has been...
  • User AvatarPsi 13th Oct - 5:11pm
    Has Dan Hodges doen his run yet?
  • User AvatarDav 13th Oct - 5:00pm
    Dav, you’re telling us that the Irish Republic will bow to pressure from Westminster? Yes, obviously. That's how it works now: the Republic is required...
Wed 14th Oct 2015
Thu 15th Oct 2015
Fri 16th Oct 2015
Sat 17th Oct 2015
Sun 18th Oct 2015
Tue 20th Oct 2015
Thu 22nd Oct 2015
Fri 23rd Oct 2015
Sat 24th Oct 2015
Sun 25th Oct 2015
Wed 28th Oct 2015
Thu 29th Oct 2015
Mon 2nd Nov 2015
Wed 4th Nov 2015
Thu 5th Nov 2015
Fri 6th Nov 2015
Sat 7th Nov 2015