Nick Clegg: “Let Leveson speak”

The Leveson Report on the culture, practice and ethics of the press will be published today at 1:30pm.

Speaking to the BBC this morning Nick Clegg said,

I think we should leave Lord Leveson to speak for himself. But my views on this subject are well known.

I believe in a vigorous free press that holds the powerful to account and isn’t subject to political interference. But a free press does not and cannot mean a press that is free to bully innocent people, or free to abuse grieving families.

I hope when Lord Justice Leveson gives his full statement later today, we will remember the reasons why this inquiry was set up. These are things that can never be allowed to happen again.

Nick Clegg received a copy of the report yesterday, and is expected to make a statement in the House of Commons at around 4:15 this afternoon. Deputy Labour Leader Harriet Harman will respond to his statement, then MPs will put their questions to the DPM.

Read more by or more about , or .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/31858 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDave Raval 25th May - 12:05pm
    Lots of interesting posts on this thread – thanks everyone and keep it up. I thought I’d wait a while before coming back in to...
  • User AvatarMartin Elengorn 25th May - 12:03pm
    There is little sign that economic liberalism is capable of addressing climate change issues. A singular lack of reference to these in the debate.
  • User AvatarJohn Roffey 25th May - 11:49am
    Jock Coats 25th May '15 - 10:51am "I don’t believe in “state co-operatives”. As a way of the state getting rid of its worst intrusions...
  • User Avatarmalc 25th May - 11:39am
    It might not be brief, but his views are shared by many. Can anyone really see Norman Lamb - decent man that he is -...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 25th May - 11:38am
    Tony, this is a joint initiative - it came out as a joint press release.
  • User AvatarAlex Dingwall 25th May - 11:32am
    Michael i do not believe it is unfair to say Alistair lied because that is beyond doubt. You say that "Alistair did not at first...
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015