“It’s a good thing the British do not vote in our elections” #romneyshambles

Is it really possible to compare a politician unfavourably to Sarah Palin?

It’s not often that I link to the Daily Mail but this headline nailed it:

‘What a car crash… worse than Sarah Palin': British politicians’ fury at Romney’s blunder-filled visit to London ahead of Olympics

The Democrats have gleefully issued this video. Enjoy.

* Mary Reid is the Monday Editor on Lib Dem Voice.

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/29620 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

5 Comments

  • Malcolm Todd 28th Jul '12 - 1:06pm

    Hm. From an American perspective I’d have thought that ad sounds a bit like saying “Well, Mitt Romney may be popular here in the States, but if the Brits had their way he’d never get elected” — you only have to ask yourself how well that would go down in reverse (“Don’t vote Labour! The Americans will be mighty p*ssed off if you do!”) to begin to doubt its value as a campaign message. But no doubt they know their electorate better than I do…

  • I think the point is that he’s not a good international diplomat, so if he can so quickly annoy Britain, how quickly will he seriously rile countries who won’t so quickly write his comment off as stupid and irrelevant, countries who might actually do the USA or its citizens in their countries harm?

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPeter Galton 1st Jul - 5:41pm
    Do not think that its going to be easy, we will come back but its going to take some time. Just get out there campaigning....
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 1st Jul - 5:38pm
    Phyllis By "historic error" I meant massive. Perhaps I should have written "monumental". I was seeking to say that I totally understand that it is...
  • User AvatarMartin 1st Jul - 5:38pm
    Kevin Manley: I agree; giving the leader a unilateral right to veto a policy is "a really bad idea". My point is that there needs...
  • User AvatarHelen Tedcastle 1st Jul - 5:29pm
    Thanks for this article Caron. Catherine Bearder MEP is doing superb work tackling the massive issue of wildlife crime and the real possibility in our...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 1st Jul - 5:19pm
    Norman Lamb (from his Huffington Post article) I want a public sector that is more self-confident and innovative, but ruthlessly focussed on delivering the big-ticket...
  • User AvatarPhyllis 1st Jul - 5:10pm
    "it’s about the culture of the party which I believe is no more sexist than wider society, but should be much less so if we...
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015